Day 2 - Destination: Jerseyville, Illinois - To Surprise Laurie - CycleBlaze

May 19, 2009

Day 2 - Destination: Jerseyville, Illinois

Day 2 - Petersburg, IL to Waverly, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

Got the tent down, dried out, and packed. Here's the campsite in the daylight before the tent came down.

Heart 1 Comment 0

For breakfast I had sardines and other food I'd brought along. Left at 7:25am - a lot later that the 5:00am I'd thought about!

Heart 0 Comment 0

Didn't seem like the south wind died down any. Here are some flowers. Of course, I don't know what type.

Heart 0 Comment 0

This field looked big and flat to me.

Heart 0 Comment 0

At 9:42am I passed the Richland elevator, built next to a railroad track that isn't there now.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I was slowing down and starting to think that I might not make Jerseyville by the evening. Got to Berlin a little after 11:00am, and stopped at the square that's their town park under the pavilion for some shade. The town appeared to be too small to have a place to eat. Tried calling Tahdra a few times, but the line was busy. Finally got through and had her check for possible areas to spend the night closer than Jerseyville. Decided to call her back after she had time for a thorough internet search. Pushing on, I headed for New Berlin.

I arrived in New Berlin in time to hear a church's noon carillon songs. New Berlin had places to eat, but my priority at the moment was to keep moving. Just south of town, I called Tahdra back while still riding. Just then two dogs came at me, so I told Tahdra just a minute, and put the phone down. There was a lot of barking and a few blasts from my air horn. Tahdra and Isaac (who was also on the phone) thought they were hearing the last moments before my end! Anyway, Tahdra reported that it looked like Carlinville, Carrollton, or back-track to Jacksonville were the only 'nearby' motel options - all off the path and far away. So, I just decided to keep going - after all, I didn't have to get to Jerseyville before dark.

About 1:00pm, heading west, I passed a farmer getting ready to cross the road that split his farm. He stopped in the center of the road behind me and said,"What're we doing here?" My first thought for an answer was, "Being stupid!" But that was obvious, so I told him of my hope of eventually reaching Springfield, Missouri, but before that, Waverly. By now I had my mind on eating, even if it did add time to the trip. The farmer told me they had a good place to eat on the town square, and wished me well.

As I approached Waverly, the road went over railroad tracks on this wood-floor bridge.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I turned west and headed toward the town's center. They had a large square with shade trees and two water towers.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I couldn't find the restaurant, but did spot City Hall right next to the police station. I parked and went inside the city office to inquire about near-by places to spend the night, since I was beat. The city clerk/worker said she didn't know of any motel or place to camp except at Waverly Lake, but I'd probably passed that six miles back west. I told her I was heading west, so that would be perfect. I then asked if there was someone at Waverly Lake to take the camping fee, and she said no - there was no camping fee, and I could set the tent up anywhere I liked at the lake. What a relief! Next I asked about the restaurant on the square. She said it was a block up, but didn't open until 5:00pm. It was 2:50pm, so I decided to I'd hang around over in the square until 5:00pm, eat supper, and head to the lake. This was great! I was done fighting the wind for the day, didn't have to worry about where to stay, and was already picturing the steak dinner I'd be having for supper (if they served steak)! Thank you Waverly!

Before hitting the square, I rode to Casey's General Store for stuff to drink: a Dr. Pepper, a large cold water, and a canned coffee drink (for breakfast). Back at the park, I found an unoccupied area below a shade tree on the east side of the square, and decided it would work to take a nap.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I don't remember actually falling asleep, but I sure did relax. I also spent some time sending out an email message and phoning Jim (who's non-computer-connected, but wanted to stay informed of my progress, or in this case, lack thereof).

Subject: Day two - nap time
Date: Tuesday, 5-19-2009 4:32 PM
Left new salem at 7:30
Made it to new berlin at noon
The south wind is a problem.
Arrived in wavery at 3pm. Went to city hall asking about camping. Lake 6 miles w for free. Waiting for place to eat to open at 5pm. Taking nap in park.
Jerseyville tomorrow!
35 miles so far
5:22 moving
21.3 max speed
6.3 mph moving
Spent so far (before steak dinner) $5.80 at caseys
Jeff

I also received a Tahdra-forwarded email from the ferry company:

Subject: ferry open
Date: Tuesday, 5-19-2009 4:33 AM (forwarded to me by Tahdra at 7:44am)
From: Calhoun Ferry Co.
Tuesday, May 19th.
Today there is between 4 and 5 inches of water on the ferry road and on hwy B. at the dip in the road, it is about 5 car lengths long at both spots. You can see the white line on hwy B.
The latest report shows that the river has crested and should start to drop by this afternoon but that could change, I will update this as soon as things change.
Thank You,
The Calhoun Ferry Company

At 4:50pm, I went over to a faucet near one of the water towers and refilled my water bottles. Then I headed over to the restaurant. The sign on their door indicated they weren't open on Tuesday's at 5:00pm, just on other days of the week. Oh well. I went back to Casey's to buy supper items: a hot chicken sandwich, cookies, and an energy bar.

Headed west on Route 104 for the six-mile ride to the lake, arriving at 5:55pm. The lake was nice - very nice! First off, however, I ate supper. (Sorry, I didn't wait before taking the picture). A hummingbird visited while I was eating!

Heart 0 Comment 0

I got the tent set up on a bluff overlooking the lake and started a fire with wood that was left in the fire ring. Except for losing a day's progress, things couldn't have been any more perfect!

Thank you Waverly!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I did have another email from the ferry:

Subject: GOLDEN EAGLE AND WINFIELD OPEN
Date: Tuesday, 5-19-2009 11:01 AM (forwarded to me at 5:33pm)
From: Calhoun Ferry Co.
Tuesday May 19th.
We have moved one ferry to Winfield and it will open at 1pm today and remain open until 9 pm tonight, if we get the expected drop we will take it back to Golden Eagle tonight after we close.
The Golden Eagle will remain open, there is still the same amount of water on the road but the river crested at 7am today and it is forecasted to drop a foot by tomorrow (but that can change).
I will send out another e-mail this evening when we get new river stages.

Evening-sent email message:

Subject: Day two - no steak dinner
Date: Tuesday, 5-19-2009 7:51 PM
After waiting to 5pm, found the place is not open at 5 on tuesdays. Bought chicken sandwich at caseys.
Lake is very nice.
40 miles total
25.3 mph max
5:55 moving
6.5 mph average
Jeff

I sent this one to Tahdra to forward to the ferry:

Subject: Re: GOLDEN EAGLE AND WINFIELD OPEN
Date: Tuesday, 5-19-2009 8:02 PM (sent to Tahdra at 8:02pm, forwarded to ferry at 10:13pm)
Excellent reports!
South wind is slowing me down.
Won't be there now until Thursday.
Thanks!
Jeff

Later I received another email from the ferry company. Keep in mind this company charges $3 for bicycles! The state-run Brussels Ferry and the Golden Eagle Ferry were the ones I was hoping to use. One concern was that I might get into Calhoun County (between the Illinois and Mississippi Rivers) and not be able to get back out.

Subject: Re: are you running?
Date: Tuesday, 5-19-2009 5:40 PM (forwarded to me at 8:23pm)
From: Calhoun Ferry Co.
We will not be open tomorrow at Golden Eagle, The water has not dropped out as originally expected. The Winfield Ferry will be open for most of the day, I will know more in the morning. You can check the report on the phone at 618-535-5759.
You may want to check with the Brussels state ferry also because they may be closing as well.
Thank You

Day Two: 40 miles in 10 hours, 30 minutes = 3.8 mph average travel speed (includes napping time).

Spent: $5.80 (drinks) + $5.64 (supper) = $11.44.

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 107 miles (172 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0