Day 8 Rockwood PA to Connellsville PA - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

Day 8 Rockwood PA to Connellsville PA

Another gorgeous day! I am loving this trail. I don’t usually like riding on trails but this is so well maintained and peaceful. I’m forest bathing most of the day. I had the Youghiogheny River whispering to me from the right and an occasional rushing brook cascading on the left. Whenever you pass one of these you get a delightful rush of fresh, cool air. The birds were singing and wild geranium and ragwort joined the the wild flox and fleabane. There were lots of rhododendrons as well as hemlock and wood ferns to make me feel at home. 

The Youghiogheny on my right
Heart 2 Comment 0
On my left. So refreshing!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Wild geranium
Heart 5 Comment 0
Ragwort I think
Heart 2 Comment 0

The trail passes by Confluence PA. This little restaurant was right on the trail. They have more than hot dogs. If I had known, I wouldn’t have packed a lunch. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Leaving Confluence, the trail passed a sweet mural and then traversed this area lined with rhododendron-laden rock and trees on both sides. 

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Susan WelchWow - this looks magical….
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Susan WelchIt was!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

 Along the trail there are many benches as well as covered picnic benches. 

Many of these have a half bench on one side, I suppose for motorized wheelchairs
Heart 0 Comment 0

In  Ohiopyle, there are many options for food, beverages, and ice cream. Even a pay phone.  There were picnic benches as well as shaded benches in abundance. Also bike repair station here as well as throughout the route; I even saw one in the middle of nowhere. 

I didn’t feel a need to call 911 yet. Granny’s doing ok.
Heart 3 Comment 0

        

Cool old church in Ohiopyle. Not sure if it’s still a church.
Heart 4 Comment 0

 On the way out of town, I met a reporter, Sean Sipp, taking pictures of the river. He’s doing a piece on Ohiopyle which has burgeoned with business since Covid. Nice to see some small towns doing well. 

The Youghiogheny outside of Ohiopyle
Heart 3 Comment 0

I saw these signs posted at every trail head:

We’ll, it’s Amurica
Heart 2 Comment 0

I loved these fungi on a tree stump:

Heart 5 Comment 1
Kathy ZaiserThose look like Chaga Mushrooms!!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

The ride to Connellsville was quick as the negative grade seemed to increase. As I entered town I encountered this stone grotto at St Rita’s Church. It was built by Italian immigrants about 100 years ago:

Heart 5 Comment 0

I found Peter and Henry waiting at the campground. The trail literally runs though the middle of it. 

Heart 6 Comment 0

Overall, a wonderful day!

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 277 miles (446 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Julie O’NeillIt’s so great to see this beautiful trail through your ride! So glad you are having good weather. I am inspired to ride knowing you are out there, Sandy!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Julie O’NeillJulie- you would love the GAP!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago