Day 7 Cumberland to Rockwood PA - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

May 18, 2023

Day 7 Cumberland to Rockwood PA

Said my goodbyes to Peter and Henry and took off. I’m very excited to be on the GAP! GAP stands for Greater Allegheny Passage and is a remarkable 148 mile rail trail that starts in Cumberland MD and goes all the way to Pittsburgh PA. After the initial paved section in Cumberland, it turns to crushed limestone. Ran into Randy and Annie the Newfoundland out for a stroll. What a sweet dog!

Randy and Annie
Heart 3 Comment 0

The trail rises gradually for about 24 miles to the Eastern Continental Divide at 2,392 feet. Initially, it passes through pastoral landscape as it rises. The train tracks cut a sharp curve around the Helmstetter’s homestead such that people on the front of the train could see those on the back end. 

Helmstetter’s Curve
Heart 3 Comment 0

There were three tunnels on today’s route: the Brush tunnel (914’ long), the Borden Tunnel (957’ long), and theSavage Tunnel (3,294’ long). 

Brush Tunnel
Heart 4 Comment 0

 

One of the lights was out in the middle of the Borden Tunnel and it went completely black just as a young man started to pass me. Kind of scary. Neither of us had lights. 

The climb went on relentlessly. The grade isn’t bad , it was just wearing on my poorly trained legs. Did I mention my rear by end is still sore from the C&O?

I’m trying really hard not to break the speed limit while climbing
Heart 2 Comment 0

At the famed Mason-Dixon Line I ran into Bill who was enjoying the trail on an E-bike. A rather loquacious fellow, I enjoyed the break and the company. 

Bill from the Pittsburg area doing a day trip
Heart 1 Comment 0

I meant to get a picture of the Savage Tunnel but I didn’t think of it until I emerged and saw this beautiful vista:

View just above the Savage Tunnel. The photo doesn’t do it justice.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Susan WelchAwesome!! That must’ve been breathtaking….
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

There quite a few Amish families and young couples enjoying the trail today. I was so impressed that the women could ride in long skirts. No helmets, just those pretty bonnets. I would be a fiasco in a long skirt on a bike. 

Finally reached the Continental Divide   Then it was all downhill of course. I tried unsuccessfully to get a panoramic photo of the mural, so this is the best I could do:

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

On the Meyersdale PA which is and was a major producer of Maple Syrup. I had to include this for my dear friend Mary Lydolph who for years made the best maple syrup with her husband in Elkhart Lake Wisconsin. 

This is for you Mary
Heart 1 Comment 0

The Meyersdale Visitor Center contained a charming little railroad museum complete with miniature trains. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
They don’t make trains with dining cars like this anymore
Heart 2 Comment 0
And you don’t see china like this in the dining cars.
Heart 2 Comment 0

While continuing to descend gradually to Rockwood, I crossed the Salisbury Viaduct; at 1,908 feet it’s the longest pedestrian/bike bridge I’ve ever experienced !

Salisbury Trestle
Heart 3 Comment 1
Julie O’NeillLooks like it’s high! Was it fun?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

    I stumbled on this interesting Meyer family graveyard right next to the trail. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Meyer family cemetery
Heart 0 Comment 0

    Just  before Rockwood, I encountered these chickens(?) who gave me a piece of their mind. Do chickens have curse words?

Heart 2 Comment 3
Steve Miller/GrampiesNot chickens, Guinea Hens. They are very loud and more vocal than chickens. We used to keep a few with our chicken flock as they are more alert and sound off if there are predators nearby.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleThanks Steve! I should have known you would be the person to ask!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Julie O’NeillI think they were cursing you for calling them chickens😂😂
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

   Peter and Henry picked me up and we drove to our campground up in the hills. We were entertained by this little guy who must’ve put in some miles. 

Heart 2 Comment 0

      Overall, a great day. No catastrophes. 

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 228 miles (367 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0