Day 21 Caesar Creek State Park to Connersville IN - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2023

Day 21 Caesar Creek State Park to Connersville IN

I can’t seem to get an early start. There’s always something. Well today it was me. Peter was driving me to Franklin I’ll where I finished my gloriously short ride 2 days ago. But I forgot my paper map and so we went back, grabbed the map and returned to Franklin, mostly on very winding roads. 
Riding through Franklin, I noticed some nice murals and older buildings. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0

Outside of town, I got on the Greater Miami River Trail which follows the river around Middleton. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Lots of wheat and corn on today’s ride.
Heart 2 Comment 0


Midway between Jacksonburg and Somerville, I saw strawberries for sale in front of an old brick farmhouse so I bought a half quart and sat in the shade of a huge oak tree to eat my lunch. A couple of dogs would occasionally dutifully bark at me but they were on the other side of an ornate fence. 

Heart 3 Comment 1
Julie O’Neillthat sounds like a lovey memory...and Strawberries : )
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

I grabbed a bottle of water in Somerville after which the route traversed Hueston  Woods State Park. The shade was greatly appreciated. 

Heaven on a very hot day
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltYes, shade on a hot day is a lifesaver! :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Sycamore grove in the park
Heart 1 Comment 0

After crossing the Ohio-Indiana state line, the land flattened out for a while but the heat continued. In Roseburg, I ran across a fruit stand. I would have loved a cantaloupe but settled on 2 peaches.
The hills returned but not too bad. I was happy to make it to the campground in Connersville. Coming from Washington state, it was a cultural experience. Mostly seasonal campers who spend a lot of time driving around in golf carts. Neatness seems to be shunned as junk from one site blurred into that of its neighbor, Trump really won in 2020, racist statues and confederate flags. The one that got me was a flag that was half USA/ half Confederate with a sign that said “I respect the flag”. Did someone sleep through history class? But there was one funny dog. 

Heart 3 Comment 0

We went out for a delicious dinner at Jonesy’s.  The owner grew up on a farm here. He purchased a beautiful old home that had been converted to a dental office and returned it to its prior grandeur. Nice craftsman woodwork, old quartersawn oak floors. He survived Covid. I hope he continues to do well. 

After dinner, it was laundry at the campground. Believe me, you don’t want to do laundry here or at least take some cleaning supplies. 

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 716 miles (1,152 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Nancy HornikYikes! Bet seeing that flag made your blood boil. Glad that you had a good visit with family. Hard to believe Sebastian is 9 already. I remember when he was a baby! Your descriptions of your adventures are amazing. Feels like we are riding with you without the heat, leg cramps and butt aches. Take care....stay safe!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Julie O’NeillConnersville IN...I will remember that. Ride on!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago