Day 18 Deer Creek State Park to Caesar Creek State Park - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

May 29, 2023

Day 18 Deer Creek State Park to Caesar Creek State Park

I just lost my journal entry when I was almost finished! Noodlebrain. 

The days are warming up and no additional layers were needed this morning. It was a gorgeous sunny day!  After leaving Deer Creek State Park, I passed this funny donkey hanging out with his goat friends. 

Heart 3 Comment 0

The first two third of the ride was very flat but I’m not complaining. I love midwestern farmland. As a military brat, I’ve never had a home town, but this feels like home to me. 

So, this is tilled
Heart 3 Comment 0
Is this “no till” or just weedy? Where are the Grampies when you need them?
Heart 0 Comment 0

I have a lot of questions about American farming but I haven’t seen any farmers close up. 

Passing through Madison Mills, I noticed this church established Nov 1869.

Heart 1 Comment 0
That’s a real bell in the steeple!
Heart 2 Comment 0

Jeffersonville Fire Department is really into the Memorial Day spirit:

Hope no one needs that ladder truck in a hurry!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I’ve noticed a number of beautiful peony rows during the past week but they always seem to appear on a climb or on a roaring downhill. The peonies are beginning to fade so this is the best I could do:

Heart 3 Comment 0

On the way to Jamestown, I passed this old farmhouse, but check out that garage!

The viability of trees never ceases to amaze me.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I really liked this little farm house:

Heart 1 Comment 0

Shortly after, I heard two dogs attacking from the left but they were foiled by my miniature marine horn! 

Heart 5 Comment 3
Julie O’NeillThat must have been stressful!!! Sooo glad the horn worked : )
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Julie O’NeillYou bet! I’m still very wary of barking dogs coming at me!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltGood idea to carry that horn! I should look into getting one. I had one many years ago and it could stop cars in their tracks!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

Jamestown also had some stately old residences. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

      

  After Jamestown, the route was more rolling and fun. I was almost at the Caesar Creek campground when Peter and Henry drove up on their way from the  grocery store. In the name of unity, I hopped in with them. Henry is always happy when his pack is together. 

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 631 miles (1,015 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Julie O’NeillI love that you take time to notice all the details about the places you pass through. The changing of the scenery - your photos and comments - are like unrolling a live map of America.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago