Day 14 Claysville Oh to Buckeye Lake OH - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

May 25, 2023

Day 14 Claysville Oh to Buckeye Lake OH

Started from Claysville shortly before 9:30 but it was still nippy. The first big hill took care of that and I was shedding layers. My GPS was acting wonky but I finally got the route to load after about a mile into the ride. 

My ride continued to go through picturesque rolling farmland. 

Heart 3 Comment 2
Julie O’NeillI love the open spaces, this makes me feel both calm and energized.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltLovely sky also! :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

As I rolled through Chandlersville, I noticed this interesting old building. 

Independent Order of Odd Fellows in Chandlersville OH
Heart 1 Comment 0
I.O.O.F. repurposed
Heart 0 Comment 0

On my way out of town, I noticed lots of vultures circling overhead. I was hoping they didn’t have an eye on me for lunch but then I realized I was disrupting their repast down the road except for this determined fellow. 

Sad to say- that was someone’s kitty
Heart 1 Comment 0

Old houses in the Midwest often have interesting roofing tiles and patterns. 

I noticed this house on the way to Zanesville.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Anyone know what these are made of? Asbestos?
Heart 1 Comment 0

On entering Zanesville, I looked for a bike shop on Market and 3rd Streets. Evidently it moved to Brighton and Dryden. Do I decided to bag it.  I continued meandering through the city, crossed the Y Bridge- yes it is Y shaped- and made  a left on Ridge Avenue and climbed up a nasty hill with lots of traffic and potholes, only to discover it was really Pine Street. Checking Google maps, I found a way to get over to Ridge Avenue and it went right by the bike shop!  I stopped in at 360 Bike Shop to replace the  bike lock that disappeared from my pannier when I left it on the GAP trail outside Connellsville PA. Ansen was very helpful and when I asked about the best way to get to Ridge Avenue (I really didn’t like the sound of that street), he said why don’t you just take Main Street which turn into US 40 or the National Road. He said Ridge Avenue makes bike racers in the area cry. 

Thanks Ansen!
Heart 2 Comment 0

The TransAm Eastern Express route meets up with Us 40 about nine miles west anyway. I think I cut out a few steep hills.  US 40 is fairly boring, has long climbs of 4-5% grade, but it has a bike lane and 2 car lanes all the was to Gratiot. After that converts to a 2-lane road with a descent but not generous shoulder. Arrived at Buckeye Lake KOA around 5 pm with gas in the tank after 3015 feet of climbing. 

Peter cooked a delicious dinner and all’s good! The only problem is we’re stuck here till Sunday as it’s Memorial Day weekend and campgrounds in these parts are full.   Better than a Walmart parking lot. 

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 523 miles (842 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Julie O’NeillI did not realize how often your route is on the road. Not my fav thing. Anymore.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Julie O’NeillI don’t like busy cities- too easy to get lost or make a stupid move. So far drivers have been considerate.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago