Day 11 Clairton PA to Colliers WV - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2023

Day 11 Clairton PA to Colliers WV

Woke up as usual at 6:30. I slept like a log- best sleep in years. Peter dropped me off at the Montour trailhead and I left around 9:30. The first part of the trail was very peaceful compared to the industrial neighborhood surrounding it. There were a lot of dog walkers out but my favorite entourage was an especially endearing foursome. 

Athena, Lilly, Rusty, and Corina
Heart 4 Comment 0

The trail at times followed a picturesque stream and sometimes was peacefully wooded. 

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
A large rock with trail humor
Heart 2 Comment 0

At one point, I thought I was in Virginia. 

Heart 3 Comment 0

The trail is not continuous and uses a lot of streets that are not always well marked. My gps seems to have its distances off so I spent more time than I wished checking google maps and backtracking, as well as questioning any poor soul who might be in my proximity. Eventually the trail became continuous. I encountered sweet little park established by an organization that promotes trail use by children and adults with disabilities. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0


There were three tunnels on today’s route. As I approached the second tunnel, I encountered a large work truck blocking the trail. Initially I saw a BIDEN sticker on the back; I thought: that’s strange for this corner of of Pennsylvania. But as I got closer, I realized it said BIDEN is not my president. I also noted a TRAIL CLOSED sign. Uh oh. I squeezed around the truck and encountered 2 men, one operating a dilapidated forklift and the other trying to attach a large vat of concrete to the forks. Let’s say it wasn’t a graceful endeavor. The men confirmed that the tunnel was closed to trail traffic. I asked if there was a detour. The forklift operator, who was from the area, replied “There ain’t no detour “. When I asked how I could get around the tunnel, he mumbled “All them roads are dirt and I can’t tell you how to get around it. Just go on through. You’ll have to lift your bike and climb over the barrier. You’ll see the boss on the other side. Just tell him I said you  could go.” He then proceeded to deliver the vat of concrete to the men on scaffolding in the tunnel. While I waited for him to finish the task, the other fellow who was from East Palestine, showed me photos taken from his house of the fires following the derailment and the ensuing (controlled?) explosion. Very horrifying. 

Looking back on the Greer Tunnel
Heart 5 Comment 2
Julie O’NeillAnd I thought you had adventures yesterday!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Julie O’NeillJust keeps getting better!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
I’m glad La Tortuga has such slender handlebars
Heart 3 Comment 1
Julie O’NeillGlad you didn't have to lift La Tortuga over the barriers. And having gotten this far on a 'closed trail', I am wondering what your next challenge will be😬
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
I ate lunch on this bench. I liked his name but wondered why he died so young.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The Montour trail connected to the Panhandle Trail and the surface changed from crushed limestone to perfectly paved. 

Heart 2 Comment 0

 I didn’t find the Panhandle as scenic but it was much faster. It passed several towns. I crossed into West Virginia but missed the marker. Peter picked me up in Colliers WV and we drove to the closest campground we could find in New Cumberland WV on the Ohio River, a very restful place and we were the only campers. 

Heart 5 Comment 2
Julie O’NeillWhat a lovely place!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Julie O’NeillYes. It really was and we were the only campers there. A train goes through once a day at 10:30 at night but we were up as Peter had a Committee meeting at 7pm Lummi time. Can’t wait till we cross into central time zone!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 377 miles (607 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Ed SpeareDid you ever find your Wallet?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Nancy GrahamI was wondering the same about your once lost wallet ;’-).
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Nancy GrahamNice slipping under the guardrail! No obstacle you cannot successfully tackle! I am enjoying your trek and know how fortunate you are to have someone (your husband) so willing to be your ongoing sag driver. Ride on and continue to stay safe.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Ed SpeareI did! And I haven’t lost it again yet!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Nancy GrahamThanks Nancy! That slide under the guard rail was a first for me. And yes, I did find my wallet!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Nancy GrahamHey Nancy- I saw in your comment to my comment on the Chimahusky brothers’ journal that you recently rode to B’ham. Do you live nearby?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Nancy GrahamTo Sandy EarleI live in Mukilteo. We were in Bellingham for the Title IX celebration and awards that were due 50 years ago!! We made a weekend of it by camping in Lynden and I did rides from there as well as one from B’Ham.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago