Day 10 Connellsville PA to Clairton Pa, start of the Montour Trail - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

May 21, 2023

Day 10 Connellsville PA to Clairton Pa, start of the Montour Trail

Another beautiful morning following the constant downpour yesterday. Boy, did I ever pick a good rest day.  About two miles out, my rear brake seized up. I fiddled with the adjuster and finally, with the help of many cyclists who had now gathered around, the wheel was spinning again. I had planned to get some instruction on disc brake care and maintenance before my trip, but after the dog bite and zillion things I had to do to prepare for a long trip including details from finishing the construction of our house, I never got around to it. I figured I could find a bike shop in West Newton, so I carried on with just a front brake. Every time I forgot and used the back brake, the same thing would happen. I definitely don’t understand these brakes and I’m missing my old rim brakes. 

About ten miles down the trail, I stopped to take a photo of the calm river.

Heart 4 Comment 0

Then I decided to shed some layers as it was warming up. I then noticed that my pannier was not on my bike. Slightly panicked, I turned around, thinking this is going to add 20 miles to my trip to the bike shop. After riding 5 miles back,  I ran into riders Kathy and Bruce but they hadn’t seen a yellow pannier. Just then we saw Ron come riding up carrying my pannier! The bike lock I had strapped to it was gone but everything else was there. Thank you Ron!

Kathy, Bruce and Ron
Heart 3 Comment 0
      

  After a few miles I saw this:

A little trail humor for Zippy, our trail creator on Lummi Island
Heart 3 Comment 0

                                                                                    Much relieved, I proceeded to West Newton, trying, somewhat unsuccessfully, to not touch the rear brake lever.  I started feeling like there was something wrong with me. Going 10 mph was becoming increasingly difficult. Nineteen miles later, I finally got to the West Newton Bicycle Shop via where Jericho put down what he was working on and in short order solved the problem. Last night I moved my GPS unit mount so I could read it better and had stupidly mounted it over the rear brake cable. He move it to the left and tilted my handle bar bag slightly, so now I have an ideal setup. He also sprayed some lubricant on my spd pedals so I can unclip without a panic. 

Thank you Jericho!
Heart 3 Comment 0

Great little bike shop and you can get food and refreshments above!
Heart 2 Comment 0

 Having resolved the two senior moments of the day, I decided a snack was in order. As I was relaxing, I struck up a conversation with Babbi and her husband Rob Keener. They were out for a day ride and it turns out Rob has a YouTube channel promoting the many bike trails in the area. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Babbi and Rob
Heart 1 Comment 0

Notice they’re riding Rad power bikes from Seattle. They had to go to Indianapolis to get them. Very friendly and positive people. 

My bike moved much more easily after Jericho’s adjustments!  I guess I don’t have a metabolic disorder after all. Whew!  

There were several really nice places to tent camp along the trail. One that I’d heard of before  was Dravo cemetery. It has water and what appear to be real toilets. If you don’t mind sleeping next to a pretty graveyard. 

Dravo Cemetery and campground
Heart 3 Comment 0

The GAP passes many small river towns, many of which have a baseball field as well as parks and playgrounds. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

       Close to Mckeesport, I ran into these three military vets doing a cross country ride on the Great American Rail Trail. They’re sponsored by Warrior Expeditions. Very cool nonprofit organization. 

Chuck, me, Britt, and Stephanie
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

At Mckeesport I left the GAP, meandered through Glassport and crossed the bridge to Clairton where I will pick up the Montour Trail tomorrow. 

Peter and Henry picked me up. Henry howled when he saw me. A good day, two fiascos diverted. 

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 329 miles (529 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Julie O’NeillDay 10 will probably be one to remember : ) You really had a lot of 'adventures' today. Well done, Sandy!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago