Zadar to Pakostane - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

May 29, 2023

Zadar to Pakostane

ferries to/from Uglijan island route

Since I had just taken multiple days off, and Pula, I decided not to spend another night in Zadar. I was actually anxious to get on my bike. What I was not anxious for was to have to pedal fast to get to my first ferry just 3 miles down the road. It was gonna take me to the Uglijan Island , and I opted to catch the 830 ferry. If I missed that, there was not one for another hour. I made it.  This is the "alternate" Eurovelo 8 route and I was happy I took it.

Arriving in Preko
Heart 0 Comment 0
Without the ferry blocking my view
Heart 1 Comment 0

I had to catch another ferry at the end of the day to get off the island and back to the mainland. I checked the schedule and saw that there was one at 11:30 but then not again until 1:20. I knew this and yet dinked around when I got off the ferry looking for drinks before setting off.  I knew I didn’t have time to be messing around as I had about 18 miles to go in 2 1/2 hours. Should be doable if I don’t stop too much.

Sure was nice to be on roads and little lanes with little to no traffic.  What a nice change of pace!  I followed the water on and off throughout the day, but up on the highway there were some hills and trees and that was a nice change of scenery as well.

This was the view from quite a spectacular looking bridge.
Heart 2 Comment 0
And the view from the other side
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice ride with the fragrant smell of what I am assuming is scotch broom, or Europe's version of it. Do you see the sea in the distance?
Heart 0 Comment 0

The funny thing is, there was a tour a group on mostly E bikes, doing a boat and bike tour. We hopscotched each other multiple times, and they were all very friendly and encouraging.  It kind of made for a fun day.  They were from all over the world, but everyone spoke to an English, so there was some banter back and forth each time they passed me.   By the end, I said I needed to charge a one Euro toll every time they passed me.  

There were two sisters from New Zealand, and they told me I should stop and go swimming with them.  She also said that the least she could do was to buy me a drink.  Who am I to turn that down?  But then I got confused because she has a twin sister and I mixed the two of them up.  It was kind of funny.  I didn't go swimming, but I did enjoy a nice rest break chatting with them and others in the group and my coke zero tasted excellent.

Thanks for my coke zero. Nice meeting everyone!
Heart 0 Comment 0

  

I left a little before them but was going to go to the highway just to keep directions simpler. Of course, they caught up and passed me again.  They turned off once again for quieter roads and I stayed on the highway but then the EuroVelo 8  route sign told me to turn to the smaller roads. I didn’t think I’d see the group again but then wouldn’t you know they all came up behind me again.  Of course, I was checking my phone for directions when the tour leader came and said, "Yes, this is the right way."  Ha ha, it happened a few times so was kind of funny.  

Oh, in case you’re wondering I missed my 11:30 ferry 😂 so when I got to the ferry terminal, I just bought my ticket and then went into the little town to grab lunch.  The same ladies invited me over to see their boat.  It looked amazing. Definitely not in my budget, but what a fun way to travel!

It was nice to relax a bit before my ferry left.  It crossed back to the mainland to the town of Biograd du Moro.  

Here's my ferry
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lots of sailboats about
Heart 0 Comment 0
I particularly liked this one. Thanks camera zoom!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I wound my way through the little waterfront area before heading up to the highway back to where the traffic was.  At least these lanes were wider, so traffic wasn't quite a concern.   I only had about 10 miles to go to the campground I had picked.

Nice shot pulling into the port
Heart 1 Comment 0
Move over yellow submarine!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got lucky and she ring me in as a motorcyclist because there was a special for them.  I didn’t get an actual site but had a nice little area a group is coming, so there were picnic tables technically I’m not supposed to use them but I’m pretty sure I will in the morning.

This looked so much better in person
Heart 0 Comment 0
That's a lot of sea urchins to try and avoid while swimming.... shoes or not. I did not swim.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I went down and relaxed at the beach as I waited for the sun to set.  Almost a little too much free time on my hand.  What a concept.

Who, besides me, sees the creature with his hand resting on his chin?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Brilliant!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Night
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 375 miles (604 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0