Pula to Zadar via ferry - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

May 28, 2023

Pula to Zadar via ferry

One way to get me out the door early is have a 7:00am ferry to catch!  The ferry is actually a huge catamaran.  Paid $20 for me and $20 for my bike.  I think my bike should have gotten a seat inside!  I don’t mind paying  extra for my bike, but that’s ridiculous.  Better get used to it, that’s the ferry line I’ll be taking later in this trip.

We weren’t allowed out on the upper deck until after the first stop.  Later, I found out it’s because that area is known to be rough.  It was for a bit too, but thankfully the seas calmed down.  Super fun ride after that stopping at various ports.  Met some other cyclist too.  The best thing however, was spotting dolphins.  Twice.  Even though just a brief glimpse, it made me happy!

After my five hour ferry ride, we pulled i to Zadar.  I made my way to the hostel, but with a brief stop at the sea organ.  More on that later.  

Although the hostel has top notch reviews, a little disappointed they would not allow early check in.  I parked my bike and proceeded to walk around the city.  Found a great park to walk through and to relax for a few minutes.  

Went down to watch the sunset by the sea organ and it not disappoint.  I must admit, I got a little pissed at someone sitting in front of me who decided to light up a cigarette.  Okay, yes smoking is incredibly common here, to a fault, but common decency says you don’t light up in crowded area.  Once the smoke blew right at me, I asked the lady to put it away from me.  Then, to top it off, her boyfriend starts playing bits of songs on his phone to add to a photo.  Hey idiot, we’re at a famous sea organ, maybe people are here to listen to that!!! At least that’s what I was thinking.

Bye Pula
Heart 0 Comment 0
That’s the hilly Cres island I decided to save for another time
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Who could possibly drive up that steep hill?!
Heart 1 Comment 0
So soothing!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Approaching Zadar
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Is that my future husband on that boat?
Heart 0 Comment 0
They wanted to make sure I didn’t fall again! 😂
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bob KoreisCan't look at that type of stone without thinking of how slick it gets when wet.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Today’s ice cream shot
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sad 😞
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cute little harbor I saw from the park
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The sea organ
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Night
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 2 miles (3 km)
Total: 346 miles (557 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0