Caorle to Aquileia - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

May 14, 2023

Caorle to Aquileia

Now, this pizza is more like it. From my dinner last night at the beach. Nice!
Heart 3 Comment 0

I left around 10:00am.  I figured I had plenty of time so at first, I dawdled in farm county, ie, I kept stopping for pictures.  Then the rain started and didn't end until about the last hour.  I took a one-hour break at bakery with very fancy desserts.  I only had one small one, but I did buy a coke zero and ate my lunch there.  I was hoping the rain would stop.  It didn't.

All crops should have poppies in front of them to spruce them up
Heart 1 Comment 0
Don't know what crops this is. Don't care. There are poppies 😂
Heart 1 Comment 0
One lane bridge. Some car sped towards me as I was crossing and had to slam on his brakes. As I was cursing out loud at him, he waved a hand in apology.
Heart 0 Comment 0
As I approached a bridge, this is what I saw. I was momentarily awestruck as the color was beautiful!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Me = very wet taking a break under a leafy tree on a bench. Note to self: shops are not open on Sundays. You ain't in America anymore. 😂 P.S. I think that's a fake smile 🌧️
Heart 1 Comment 0

It was not a fun day of cycling.  Sometimes the rain doesn't bother me, but it was definitely bother me today.  I went to the campground as they have a special for cyclists, but the lady basically encouraged me to go to the hostel as thunderstorms and rain were forecast for tonight and tomorrow.

Rainbow. A little late to be making it up to me. Pfffft.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I met two young German girls and turns out they were cyclists too.  I ended up walking with them into town.  It was great to meet them and we exchanged info as there is a slight chance our paths could cross again later.

I made my way to the hostel and had a simple, room to myself and a private bathroom, although it's down the hall.  Works for me and arriving so late, it was nice to know I'd be out of the rain.  The other argument of course was that I was arriving so late, I should have just camped.  However, once my legs started cramping, I was happy to have a room.

I showered and walked into town quickly just to see what I could see.  I had seen some ruins leaving the campground but didn't bother with a picture.  Wish I would have.  To be honest, I'm not even sure the full story behind the ruins, other than they are Roman ruins.  I did walk and see the church and bell tower and had some ice cream.  

Walking towards town I spotted this
Heart 0 Comment 0
History lesson for the next picture
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
If you care to google translate Italian
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I broke from gelato 😂
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This display was behind glass on the church grounds. I'm guessing it's from days gone by. I thought the dinosaur was cute. #theimportanceofhistory
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another dinosaur
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Being a planner, I don't necessarily like arriving unprepared, ie the history of the ruins and what to see.  In addition, I didn't even know there was a hostel until this morning.  I guess it all worked out, but this is why I like to research ahead of time.

Oh, and on a funny note -- I think it was today, I was riding along and caught movement in my peripheral vision.  I was a self-operating lawnmower!  Kind of like a rumba vacuum cleaner.  I was amused.

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 170 miles (274 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0