Waterford to Bethel - Northern Tier Modified - CycleBlaze

August 6, 2021

Waterford to Bethel

We spent most of yesterday working on route details for the next couple of weeks. Once you start touring in an unfamiliar area and get a better feel for terrain, weather, roads, etc. it becomes easier to figure out the details. Plus local inputs as mentioned earlier. You can only get so far ahead of time with maps, the internet, past journals, etc. All this real-time route planning impacts my time available to update this journal too. :-(

Breakfast time was a lot of fun. Nancie and Ramzi kept me laughing both mornings. Ramzi’s mom Susan also joined in. Patty and Matt were just the most genuine people you could ever meet. And of course I cannot leave out owners Barbara and Jan, as well as the new owners who will be taking possession next week. Best wishes to Barbara and Jan in retirement. May they have many fun travel adventures!

The history of the Waterford Inne (44 years since Barbara and her mom first started it!) and of the original homestead is quite interesting. I was so glad Barbara shared the book with with me. 

At the Waterford Inne. A well deserved recognition.
Heart 0 Comment 2
John ScanlanKimsan,
I have made a vow that I am going to do whatever it takes to avoid cars in the future. I am such a big fan of rail-trails.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim DiorioMy next tour may be all rail trails.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

We packed up resumed our ride heading north towards Bethel. Although hilly, the route was beautiful with several minutes between cars during many of the long stretches. 

More perfect cycling weather and back roads with minimal traffic
Heart 1 Comment 1
John ScanlanKimsan,
But I notice that even the pictures of those back roads show a slight uphill grade. I didn't expect your planned route to be so hilly.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Leaving Waterford
Heart 0 Comment 1
John ScanlanKimsan,
They start 'em so young with LaCrosse in some states, and in Ohio, I didn't even see the game played until I was 18.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
First baseball field I have seen on this trip
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another popular outdoor activity in the area
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tonight will be our final night in Maine. We are staying at the Bethel Outdoor Adventure and Campground. What an energized and fun, busy place!

We set up and went back into town for some groceries. I also toured the Maine Mineral & Gem Museum. First museum of the trip, and one of my favorite activities when I travel. You can learn so much in a short amount of time. This museum was a wonderful find and I had no idea about Maine’s rich mining and mineral history. The special exhibit, Tourmaline Turns 200, commemorated the bicentennial of the discovery of the Maine state mineral, tourmaline, in the fall of 1820. I would love to visit again. Making a list for future travel. 

Rose writes:

We were rested after two nights at the Waterford B&B. Kim and I set off towards Bethel. One tough climb, LoveJoy Mountain and then moderately flat after that. Riding on peaceful country roads with shade will put a smile on my face everytime. 

Another peaceful country road in Maine
Heart 0 Comment 0
LoveJoy Mointain
Heart 1 Comment 0
Crest of Lovejoy Mountain. Well earned downhill!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Tents set up and gear packed away, we headed into town to run errands and stop at the Maine Mineral and Gemstone Museum.  Afterwards  we rolled over to the Barker Mountain Bikes.  I had snapped a spoke off my rear rim. Jerry Garcia was helpful and got my spoke replaced and laced. The two shop dogs were in need of loving which I kindly gave.😀 Great bike shop in Bethel, Maine.

Back to camp! Dinner is served!

Dinner tonight. Chef Rose's Avocado Caeser salad with orzo pasta, salami bites, avocado, grape tomatoes, corn and tortilla strips. Camp cooking is always better after a trip to the grocery store.😀
Heart 1 Comment 0

Soon after setting up camp, I went to check out the suspension bridge at sunset.

A view from this awesome suspension bridge over the Androscoggin river.
Heart 1 Comment 0

As the day closed on another beautiful evening in Maine, we retired to our tents for some well deserved rest.

Today's ride: 23 miles (37 km)
Total: 195 miles (314 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0