Utica to Canastota - Northern Tier Modified - CycleBlaze

August 24, 2021

Utica to Canastota

Today’s ride started out much like the last time we rode which was two days ago. The Erie Canalway Trail is very well marked. 

Morning start
Heart 0 Comment 0
Peeking out
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltPainted turtle

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Painted_turtle
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim DiorioThank you!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

About halfway to Rome, NY the trail surface was extremely rough, muddy in many sections (apparently quite flooded about a week ago), and overall more of a mountain bike environment. We stopped for a break at Oriskany Road. After cooling off and talking with a nice couple from nearby Oneida we continued on our way. This next section of the route was on paved streets. 

I hadn’t realized how much the trail had beat up on my bike, only how much it had beat up on me. My front brake was rubbing the tire so I stopped and opened it up. The front axle nuts had loosened as well. I tightened them but they wouldn’t hold and eventually they became too loose to ride. My bike and I hobbled into Rome and met up with Rose at McDonald’s.

I learned that Rome has no bike shops. No way I could ride the additional 20 miles to our destination in Canastota. We spent a lot of time trying to find transportation while drinking iced tea and keeping cool. 

After exhausting all options (Lyft, Uber, bus, train) I followed my inner voice. It said to go across the street to a business that I kept observing from our table. The business is called Custom Creations. I walked over and introduced myself to Jake. I explained the situation, pointed out our loaded bikes across the street, and asked if he knew anyone I could pay to drive us to Canastota. He said yes that he could find someone. About 20 minutes later I met his coworker, Adam, who said he would drive us when they close at 5pm, which was in an hour. At 4:45pm we walked over and unloaded our panniers, to be ready. Adam pulled his truck around. 

Once the business was all locked up we loaded up for the ride. Adam grew up here in Rome, did a lot of BMX riding in the past, and even had some sponsorships. He got us safely to our destination, we unloaded everything, and I paid him. I am so grateful to Adam. And my inner voice. 

Adam
Heart 0 Comment 0

That evening I fixed my front brake but the front wheel mounting is another story for tomorrow. 

Rose's perspective:

Left around 10am from Utica. Erie Canal Trail was a mix of asphalt, mud, 2 downed trees and stone dust.

Crossing the Mohawk River on a Lock.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view from below the deck.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view from above the deck.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oopsie Daisy. Ride Fast!
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltAck! That wouldn't be good if that limb came down...
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Downed tree. This one according to the neighbor has been down for weeks. He stated no one has come to remove it. Guess it takes a some one to care. Sadly, there weren't any "someones" living nearby this section of the trail.
Heart 0 Comment 0

 I powered thru unaware Kim was having had some troubles with her front wheel until we met up at the McDonalds in Rome. We did our best to fix the problem to no avail. We sat inside the AC doing our best to get a ride to Canastota. We reached out to a nearby WS host for a SAG, called a nearby bike shop 8 times, emailed and FB messenger them, finally got an answer and they were unable to assist. Tried Uber and Lift both were a no go. Amtrak didn't stop in Canastota. Four buses were not an option this late in the day. Enterprise wouldn't rent a one way. The 2 star taxi services were bleak options.  Kim ducked out for a bit, I thought she went across the street for an ice cream.  She messaged me that the guys across the street were going to find us a ride!

Thank God for inner voices and guys with trucks!  

We arrived at the hotel in Canastota. I left on foot to grab dinner at the local Chop Suey while Kim stayed behind to work on her bike more. Dinner was not picture worthy, but it was edible. 

Tomorrow is a new day!

Today's ride: 19 miles (31 km)
Total: 524 miles (843 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0