Middleport to Williamsville (Buffalo) - Northern Tier Modified - CycleBlaze

August 31, 2021

Middleport to Williamsville (Buffalo)

After packing up this morning I walked over to the Middleport city office to meet Sarah and to give her a donation. Some small signs posted in the restrooms mentioned that they rely on donations for these facilities and I was happy to contribute. 

Fun playhouse at a home along the trail
Heart 0 Comment 0

This last (or first, if heading east) stretch of the Erie Canalway Trail was marked by this sign. The whole canal really has a significant history. I wish the canal museums in all the little towns had been open. They are among my favorite stops while on tour. Their hours are always limited by volunteer availability and some were closed for an even longer duration right now. 

Heart 0 Comment 1
John ScanlanKimsan,
I would imagine that Covid-19 has also been a factor in all these little canal museums being open or not.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

As I rode along to Buffalo I was thinking a lot about the next section of our route and the upcoming holiday weekend. I had made reservations at a few stops along Lake Erie so we wouldn’t become stranded.

After 10 days cycling on the trail I wasn’t really looking forward to riding on the road again, on a holiday weekend no less. I pondered many other thoughts and ideas as well, and decided that today would be a good end point for me. I have extracted all the fun I can out of this trip and it is time to wrap it up. 

About a half mile from tonight’s WS hosts, Janice and Duke, I encountered the sign pictured below. Same as my own street name. I considered it to be confirmation from the universe to return home as I had been thinking. 

Heart 0 Comment 2
John ScanlanKimsan,
That road sign was a message from heaven . . . and a confirmation that your gut instinct is right most of the time.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

After dropping our bags at Janice’s home we rode three more miles to the bike shop for my new front fork installation and, ultimately, to ship home the bikes.

We packed and repacked our bags for flying out the next day. Rose booked a very early flight and mine is early afternoon. Janice loaned me an extra duffel bag which I will drop off at her friend’s house about three miles from where I live. They will be visiting her next month. The universe again. 

In Janice’s guest room
Heart 0 Comment 1
John ScanlanKimsan,
Ooooooo . . . I would've pounced on that Belvita bar.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago


Rose's perspective:

Up early and packing up camp. We were heading to our WS hosts Janice and Duke's house  in Williamsville, NY.

We said our goodbyes and well wishes to Matt, then finished packing up. 

Matt from Pennsylvania
Heart 0 Comment 0
Www.acrossthemapwithmatt.com
Heart 0 Comment 0

Todays trail was mostly more of the same stone dust with pavement as we entered Lockport.

Water Rushing
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Rush
Heart 0 Comment 0

The climb to the street level was multitiered next to the Erie Canal Museum. At the top a local cyclist stopped me to chat.  Tom's Diner was recommended and yet another cyclist, Art, joined us for second breakfast.

After second breakfast, we all headed toward Buffalo together.

Off we go
Heart 0 Comment 0

Art and I began talking and sharing music and the cadence increased. Ricky Skaggs Get Up John was the song of choice for me. We talked harmony and chorus as we pedaled faster along the trail.  At one point Google maps said something, possibly but it whipped past my ears like the wind. A mile past the turn we realized I had missed the turn to Williamsville. Art and I said our goodbyes and I turned back to fix my direction. I met Kim on the trail and we found the correct route. 

I arrived at Janice and Duke’s home and unloaded my gear in the back patio. Kim rolled up, parked her bike and sat down. She said "I'm all finished.” And just like that all the assessment of the past 5 weeks and coming 4 weeks were complete. We rolled away to Bert's bike shop in Williamsville. Kim arranged to have her bike repaired, boxed and shipped. I chose to box and ship my own bike at the bike shop.

We ran a few more errands then took an Uber to Janice's house. 

One must not forget the concord wine! 🍷
Heart 0 Comment 0

We spent the evening packing and chatting with Janice. I hit the sack after 10pm with an 330am Uber to Buffalo pending quickly. The past 35 days have been a fun and hill filled adventure. 

I am melancholy to be ending the adventure early, yet happy to be heading home and seeing my loved ones once again. 

Until next time!

Keep the wind at your back, stay flexible and live your best life each day!

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 736 miles (1,184 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0