Glens Falls to Saratoga Springs - Northern Tier Modified - CycleBlaze

August 18, 2021

Glens Falls to Saratoga Springs

Following two very beneficial rest days we got back on the road today. The weather forecast called for drizzling rain all day and it delivered. We were able to pack our panniers with no gaps that water could enter. Also, it wasn’t such a concern about getting a little damp because we knew we had another WS host for tonight. I love how much the program has grown since I joined over 14 years ago. 

We had planned a short day of 17 miles and managed to hold to it. That is to say, no detours, wrong turns, or unplanned side trips. The hills were mild, traffic was light, and winds were minimal. We stopped for second breakfast today, which is a fun part of touring but one that we have been missing most days because of stating so late. 

We arrived in Saratoga Springs before noon at the beautiful home of Tim and Maureen. Within five minutes of meeting Maureen she offered to let me take her car into town for the afternoon and for dinner out, as they had a celebration of life event to attend this evening. We accepted her kind offer. 

My room for tonight
Heart 3 Comment 2
John ScanlanKimsan,
Man, that beats the hell out of a sleeping bag in a tent!!!!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
John ScanlanKimsan,
 I don't know when you are going to check your e-mail next, but you and Rose need to head west in New York state as fast as possible and travel as far west as possible.  Hurricane Henri is going to slam Connecticut on Saturday and then head north into eastern New York.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Saratoga Springs is a charming place with abundant restaurants, many shops, several museums and I’m not sure what else. This is another one of the places I want to visit again and stay longer than one night. Adding it to my ever-growing list!

While visiting some of the shops today I decided to try this Kombucha drink. It was tasty and quite carbonated. 

Interesting beverage
Heart 0 Comment 1
John ScanlanKimsan,
You're right - it seems to be a very rainy bike tour.
That Kombucha sounds a lot better than my Mountain Dew. But I'm not sure that I would drink something that says "experimental series" on the can.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Rose writes:

We left our lovely WS stay in South Glen Falls this morning and headed to Saratoga Springs stay. Rainy most of the way. Stopped at Dunkin for a second breakfast😀👏🌧🍩 Our host Maureen called us early this morning and welcomed us in early out of the rain. 

We arrived before noon, a little soggy, but not drenched. She showed us our rooms. It's really nice to have indoor accommodations when its raining. Maureen was having a group of friends over for bible study and Kim and I joined in.

Afterwards, Maureen gave Kim the keys to the car and we headed to town to explore. Such nice WS hosts this tour. 

We walked around downtown Saratoga Springs. 

Kim and I had dinner at Cantina, a mexican restaurant.

Mexique Chopped Salad for Kim and Spicy Shrimp tacos for me. Yum!
Heart 0 Comment 0

We decided we might have room for ice cream at Kilwin's. Oh my goodness, that was definitely delicious. Going to have ride out of the saddle to burn those extra calories off.

We arrived home and Kim began working on mapping, while I finished up journaling. Our hosts should be home soon, but the comfortable bed is calling my name. 😀

Today's ride: 17 miles (27 km)
Total: 406 miles (653 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0