Bethel to Shelburne, NH - Northern Tier Modified - CycleBlaze

August 7, 2021

Bethel to Shelburne, NH

We headed out of Bethel on our way to New Hampshire where we will be camping at Timberland Campground. The beginning of the Cross New Hampshire Adventure Trail starts a few miles west of Bethel, ME. 

After about five miles we crossed the Androscoggin River on Bridge Street to head west on Route 2 towards Shelburne. 

Crossing over the Androscoggin River
Heart 1 Comment 2
John ScanlanKimsan,
I notice the rocky shoreline. Is the water level down? The Androscoggin looks like a river that I would like to kayak.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim DiorioTo John ScanlanThis area has had a lot of rain this summer so not too low. Yes, a lot of kayaking!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Live Free or Die
Heart 0 Comment 0
New Hampshire
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
John ScanlanKimsan,
Have you ever seen a moose? They are HUGE! I can't imagine hitting one in a car.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim DiorioNot so far!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
For tonight’s camping
Heart 0 Comment 1
John ScanlanKimsan,
With rain in the forecast, did you remain at the campground or scramble for a bed with a roof? If I can possibly avoid it, I don't camp in the rain. It makes the next morning a pain-in-the-butt of drying out every thing.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

As we were almost finished setting up our tents for tonight, suddenly some loud thunder. I checked the weather app and, as it turned out, rain was in the forecast after all. Starting in 15 minutes. With such a beautiful day I wasn’t even thinking about it. 

Uh oh.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It rained throughout the night. And coincidentally our campground’s name is almost identical to the one where we endured all-night *heavy* rain in Maine. Thankful that this time it was not so bad. 

Rose writes:

I managed to get up early, make coffee and climb the suspension bridge over the Androscoggin river to catch the sunrise, the first sunrise in Maine I've managed to get up for.

Sunrise on the suspension bridge, Bethel, Maine.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Then I climbed back into my sleeping bag for a few more minutes of sleep.

After coffee, tea and oatmeal, we packed up camp and reviewed the maps in the morning before heading out.  This Campground was hopping with kayaks, paddleboards mountain bikes and canoes.  As we left, I was praying my rear wheel would hold together. God had other plans. Lol.  Around mile 12, along the highway in the beautiful state of Maine, the spoke snapped again.🤷‍♀️ Kim rolled up and we tried a few things, short of adding a new spoke. Decided to finish todays ride to Timberland campground in Shelburne. 

I wobbled into New Hampshire, but I made it!
Heart 1 Comment 0

When we arrived, got checked in, sat down, had a picnic and regrouped. Looking at our phones, we realized there was limited to zero service. 🤦‍♀️  We both worked on finding a new rim. It was proving quite difficult with such limited internet and cell service. I used the land line at the office a few times., since my phone was being more finicky than Kim's phone. Kim was relentless in finding a new wheel. We found a solution, then headed to our deep in the woods, down the hill campsite. 

I was exhausted, so I took a nap at the campsite. She went back up to civilization to get a better signal, then realized plan B didn't come thru. She kept the search going and found a wheel in Conway, NH at REI. Kim was in contact with our WS host for Sunday night and he came thru in a big way! He offered to pick up the old wheel at the campsite 9am Sunday and take it to REI for replacement!  This is a 106 miles Sunday morning roadtrip for our Warmshowers host Micah. I am beyond blessed daily to have good people in my life. There is so much to love about touring and the people you meet along the way.

Kim negotiated a better campsite and we packed up and moved. Soon after we set up our tents, heavy rains set in for the night. It's been a long day. I am thankful for getting here safely and for Kim's undeterred efforts. While saying my prayers, I fell asleep to the sound of rain on my tent.

Tomorrow is a fresh, new day!

Today's ride: 18 miles (29 km)
Total: 213 miles (343 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0