Day 4 ending at Carlyle, IL - Southern Indiana on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

August 27, 2015

Day 4 ending at Carlyle, IL

Last night just before getting into bed, I plugged in the four wall transformers I have for charging batteries (the BlackBerry, my new radio/mp3 player, my old TracFone, and the bike-mounted batteries). The motel room's alarm clock wasn't working. I was too tired to figure out where I'd packed my alarm clock, so set the TracFone alarm feature for 5:00am. It was charging in the bathroom, but I heard it go off.

I'd slept very well. Made coffee in the room's four-cup maker, drinking it while I watched the Weather Channel and studied maps. Every so often, I'd hear train whistles in the distance. Tracks in this town go north/south.

At 7:30am I walked to the lobby for breakfast. Done at 7:47am. Reviewed report one last time and sent it in at 8:00am. Rejected again. Forwarded it to Kris for her to post. I'll just have her do it from now on.

Checked out of the motel and was on my way at 8:17am. First stop was the Ariston for a better photo than I took yesterday. Continued on toward downtown. Took lots of pictures there (more than I'm posting here).

I was finally at the southeast side of town at 9:06am, following my waypoints along McKinley Avenue, Traylor Trail, and Old Litchfield Trail. My destination was Carlyle Lake Dam West Campground. My DeLorme PN-60 starting acting up just outside of town, so I stopped to let it find itself. Power-cycled and dropped the batteries. Nothing was helping. Rode on relying on the Magellan MAP330.

At 9:50am, I came upon a 'Road Closed' sign. There was a truck with workers sending traffic other ways due to tar-and-gravel road work. I headed south on East 6th Road. The road turned west, sending me back a mile up the hill I'd just come down. My Illinois Bicycling Map was a big help figuring out a new route, since the PN-60 was still lost (later it settled down). I'd go through Panama and connect back up with my original routing (IL-127) at Donnellson.

Was in Panama at 11:29am. Continued on to Donnellson, after going up and down a few hills. Turned south onto IL-127 at 11:52am. There was a reasonable wide shoulder, which was rideable, but the road was better. I was making good time. I'd ride on the road until I saw a vehicle in my rear-view mirror, drop onto the shoulder and keep riding. It was sort of fun. I like IL-127!

Noon report: 22.9 miles (but only 14.7 straight line miles from Litchfield).

Northwest of Greenville, when I came to a GPS waypoint pointing east, I ignored it so I could stay on IL-127. Then I came to the intersection with IL-140. Road construction. My shoulder on/off fun was over. Then at 1:17pm Greenville greeted me with a hill I finally had to walk up with no shoulder and moderate traffic. I was breathing hard when I made it into town.

I decided (a ways back) that I'd eat lunch in Greenville. Found the Corner Cafe at the corner where IL-127 turns south. Since they serve breakfast all day, I had breakfast food (2-2-2 Special) plus a root beer for lunch.

Ran into 'Rough Grooved Surface' in town where IL-127 left-turns back to the east. Had to stop for road work farther down the road. I was hoping my fun shoulder would reappear south of town, but that didn't happen. The grooved surface was over for me at 2:50pm. Then there were all sorts of shoulder conditions from wide and better-than-the-road to almost nothing. But it was mostly barely-rideable gravel. I had a long ways to go on this road, with no reasonable alternatives. I hate IL-127! (Actually, I was never stressed - I just wasn't having fun anymore.)

I made it to a reasonable turn-off east (McKay Road), and was glad to be off that highway. It was a pleasant ride from there to the campground. I arrived at the check-in shack at 5:20pm. Not many sites left, but I got a nice one (Site #20). There's a nice open area behind the tent that has a playground and an amphitheater. The check-in workers said tomorrow night at this time, they more than likely will be filled up. This place is the most popular in the St. Louis District of the US Army Corps of Engineers.

Got the tent set up close to the power box, and ate supper at 6:30pm. I'd purchased an 'insect repellent wrist band' (for a dollar) to try on this trip. I don't think this one works. Headed into the tent to continue writing the report. I was falling asleep. Decided to try a short nap, then continue writing. That worked!

It's a planned long-mileage day (for me) tomorrow, and I know getting an early start will help with that. Better get to bed.

Jeff

Spent: $7.95 plus $2 (lunch) + $18 (campsite) = $27.95.

Day 4 - Litchfield, IL to Carlyle, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
+ ready to checkout from room 114 of Americas Best Value Inn - Litchfield, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ 223 North State Street, Litchfield, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Old Litchfield Trail closed at CR-600E (East 6th Road) - Montgomery County, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Corner Cafe - Greenville, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 182 miles (293 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0