Day 27 ending at Morton, IL - Southern Indiana on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

September 19, 2015

Day 27 ending at Morton, IL

Thunderstorms came in batches last night, with heavy rain pounding the picnic shelter's metal roof each time. With rain this hard, I'm not sure how well the tent would have done out in the open. As it was, I noticed only a little water inside after I got up at 5:20am.

The reason I woke up at 5:20am is that's around the time that the pipeline construction workers go off to work, apparently on Saturdays, too. They're quiet about it, but I still hear their trucks start.

It was cloudy to the east, but skies above were clear. There was one really bright star (probably a planet) I could see for a moment to the east.

I noticed that the bathroom light was off this morning, and then discovered there was no water, either. The power's off!

With yesterday's report done, all I needed to do was pack up. The sun came out, but it was cloudy again when I was ready to go. I had mixed feeling about today - my last day for this trip. It will be nice to be home, but I'm also still enjoying being on-the-road.

I ran into Walter, the campground owner, in his car as I was leaving. Got to enjoy one last conversation. Walter said the power went out at 2:30am this morning. It was a blown transformer, and the power was supposed to be back on by 9:00am. In the meantime, he was going to change-out a bad outlet while the power was off. I thanked him again for the great set-up he gave me at his campground, and let him get to that outlet.

I was at the campground's exit at 8:27am, ready to ride north into the wind. Walter has given me the name of a good restaurant to eat breakfast at when I got to Atlanta, and that wasn't too far away.

Arrived at the Country Aire at 9:07am. Being my last day, I should probably cut back some on my food intake, but I didn't. I even followed my ribeye steak and eggs with coconut cream pie. As I was paying, a hand patted my shoulder, and I heard, "I expected you to be in Morton by now!" It was Walter, who'd come to town for breakfast. Just then another fellow showed up. Walter said something to him about my trip, and the fellow said, "That's a genuine made-in-Chicago Schwinn out there." When I got outside, I saw a Terra-Trike parked. That makes sense. I've found that only fellow bike riders have an interest in others' bicycles.

There are sites to see in Atlanta, and I got started on that at 10:09am. I just hadn't realized how many sites! Some of them I saw were the library, the windmill, and the grain mill.

Time to move on. Left Atlanta at 10:55am, headed for Armington. Rode over Sugar Creek at 11:59am. It's flowing strong and muddy thanks to yesterday's rain. It's close enough for the noon report: 11.3 miles.

A short ways west on US-136, then back north. I crossed the county line into Tazewell County - my home county - at 12:10pm, and arrived in Armington at 12:20pm. I took a break at a park there. Some sun and some clouds, and the constant north wind. A nice day that isn't too hot, nor too cool.

On north to Minier. Arrived there at 1:35pm, and found the Main Street Grill open. This place, when it was 'The Village Inn', was a favorite spot when my wife and I were dating so many years ago. The place is all different inside now, but the food is still good. I had a lighter meal (for me): Reuben New Yorker Sandwich and an RC soda. Afterwards, I stopped at the nearby downtown mini-park. Memories!

I left Minier at 2:37pm, continuing north to Mackinaw. Passed through there at 4:05pm, all set to test my legs on the hill beyond the Mackinaw River. Except for needing a short break half-way up - no problem! I turned west at the road at the top of the hill, then north on Moore Road. Moore Road is gravel for a section, and I actually enjoyed that (scenery and no cars). Moore Road ended on Warrick Road - a road I'd been on before - or maybe not. It was all new and different. They'd replaced the bridge and re-routed the road somewhat. So different than the hilly, curvy road I remembered.

I was getting close to Morton now, and needed to figure out the best way into town. The last day of Morton's Pumpkin Festival is today, and traffic would be everywhere. I decided going in on Jefferson Street would work the best, so rode north on the Washington Blacktop a ways to get there. One last break - outside Buckeye Cemetery at 5:20pm - then I'd make my final approach.

Made it to the city limits at 5:50pm without problems. I was a taking a picture of the town sign when a police car stopped and asked if I was having problems. I said, "No, I'm just celebrating my return to town after a 1000-mile trip." Then he proceeded to hold up traffic behind him, asking questions about the trip. He finally moved on, and so did I.

I rode past missed candy lying on the road from this morning's parade. If I'd been here seven hours earlier, maybe I could have been in the parade.

I got stopped by a Mortonite sitting outside, who asked something about my bike as I rode by. The guy (Chris) could not believe I'd ridden all the way to Indiana from here, so I gave him my journal address as proof. I received beverage offers and a hardy handshake as we parted.

A right turn onto Illinois Street was the last part of my plan to get home. That worked until I got to the high school. Morton also sponsors a marching band competition on the same Saturday as the Pumpkin Festival. The road was blocked off. I asked if I may walk my bike through. That would be OK. So, the final few blocks to finish my trip was walking the bike home.

Arrived in my driveway at 6:16pm. I was home, but no one else was, and I didn't have a key with me. I suspected my family was at my in-law's, so got started with some of the most traffic-challenging riding for the day - after my trip was officially over.

First I made my way to my friend Jim's. Jim's dog Sandy was happy to see me, as was Jim. After a short visit, I rode through heavy traffic to get to my in-law's. Everyone was there. Happy reunion time! I got offered supper, but declined since I now had a key, and had unpacking and tent drying-out duties to get to, as well as one more report to write.

Got my initial jobs done, and turned to the report. I ate the rest of my ginger snaps as I sorted pictures. I took a break for a shower. That proved to be the end of report writing, since I just could not stay awake afterwards. Oh well, this won't be the first time the report waited until the next day.

Anyway, I'm home, safe and sound, thanks to prayers and well-wishes from those at home and those I met on-the-road.

Jeff

Spent: $17.22 plus $4 (breakfast) + $9.48 plus $2 (lunch) = 32.70.

Day 27 - Atlanta, IL to Morton, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a TerraTrike at the Country Aire Restaurant - Atlanta, IL +
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ Hawes Grain Elevator - Atlanta, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Hawes Grain Elevator explained - Atlanta, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking through the window of the engine house of Hawes Grain Elevator - Atlanta. IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Armington ahead +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ City Hall - Armington, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking west along Minier Road just north of Whitten Branch - Tazewell County, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ marshmallows! +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ a marching band heading off to field competition - Morton, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ home! +
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 1,071 miles (1,724 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0