Day 16 ending at Metamora, IN - Southern Indiana on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

September 8, 2015

Day 16 ending at Metamora, IN

Alarm set for 6:00am, woke up at 5:00am. Stars were still out, and a sliver of the moon. Watched a satellite pass by overhead. Grass is very wet. Ate breakfast and packed up. The Campground Hostess (Vickie) stopped by with two bottles of cold water for me. I don't really have room for extra bottles (actually, now that I think about it, I do - stuffed in the center of my rolled sleeping pad). Vickie offered ice instead, so she filled my Klean Kanteen. She came back again with the name of a gentleman she knew in Metamora (my day's destination), who she figured would offer me a cold drink if I stopped to see him. With wishes for a safe trip, I was on my way at 10:39am.

I enjoyed the downhill out of the park that I had to walk up (some) on my way in yesterday afternoon. I decided this morning to take a more direct route to Metamora than the Brookville way I had originally routed.

At 10:56am I was at US-50, ready to go east. It was a low-gear uphill grind most of the way to my turn north on IN-129 (at 11:30am). What a shoulder IN-129 has - as wide as a driving lane! But would it last? Yes! Such a joy - and with a tailwind!

My noon mileage (actually, 12:05pm mileage) was 8.4 miles.

1:35pm sadly brought me to the end of IN-129, and to IN-46. But just across IN-46 is the Hobo Hut. Lunch time! I had the Hobo Special, a pancake, coffee, and orange juice. They close at 3:00pm. I may have been their last customer for the day.

At 2:30pm, I turned on my flashers for my ride west on IN-46 to IN-229, which would take me on north to Metamora. Through Batesville's city traffic and over I-74 brought me to what I was afraid of - a no-shoulder, busy country road (IN-229). This road has curves, too. This was to make up for this morning's joyful ride. I actually liked the condition of the road, and the scenery, but there were too many blind curves with this traffic.

Arrived at Oldenburg - Village of Spires - at 2:55pm. Traffic was a little less after that town. I found a few pull-off areas for breaks. Now for some of that ice water. With the lid off my Klean Kanteen, I discovered that Vickie had, literally, just filled it with ice. Add water, shake, and I had two fills of ice water. Thanks, Vickie!

One incredible downhill brought me to the end of IN-229 and to US-52 at 4:25pm. A little ways east would get me to Metamora. I passed over the Whitewater River and the Whitewater Canal, to arrive in Metamora at 4:35pm.

No one was at Gateway Park - my planned camping location - when I arrived there. Called the posted phone number, and was told about a nice spot in the primitive camping area. It is a very nice spot indeed, in the shade of trees, next to a bird feeder. There's a stone-lined fire ring with firewood all around, and a higher area for the tent (since rain is predicted).

One of three volunteers that run the park stopped by to collect the camping fee. I've decided to stay two nights, due to the weather forecast - and I want to visit downtown Metamora. The volunteer (Paul) and I enjoyed talking. His passion is making nature videos using motion-activated cameras. He's also into collecting unique wood tools and artifacts. We agreed that often these collections are unappreciated by the inheriting generations.

Set up camp and took a shower. Decided to make a campfire. This reminded me that I should call my friend Jim, who is always recommending I have more campfires on my trips. It was fun sharing with him what a nice place I'm at. This BlackBerry just won't take a good campfire picture, so the picture of that will have to wait until I get home, and I can get it off my Kodak C123 camera.

What a great way to end the day before a day-off!

Jeff

Spent: $8.72 plus $2 (lunch) + $14 (campsite) = $24.72.

Day 16 - Versailles, IN to Metamora, IN
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Laughery Creek - Ripley County, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ inside Hobo Hut - Batesville, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking towards Indianapolis +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ an old fence line - Franklin County, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Gateway Park - Metamora, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Duck Creek - Metamora, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ my campfire at Gateway Park - Metamora, IN +
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 675 miles (1,086 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0