Riding to Toodles - The No Way So Hey Tour - CycleBlaze

September 16, 2017

Riding to Toodles

I never sleep well in a tent but I did much better last night. Special thanks to my friend Michele Cleveland, an experienced camper, who recommended a better sleeping pad. I still tossed and turned but the eerie animal that sounded like a werewolf may have had something to do with it. I was also visited by a small critter scratching around my tent for food. And there were owls hooting all night. Nature is noisy. 

The day began at last night’s gas station eatery. The food so far has been greasy and disgusting so I wasn’t surprised that breakfast was more of the same.

A kindly driver ed teacher who was fueling up told me that visibility was poor here in the foggy lowlands so I put on my vest and hit the road. 

Marshy land and farmers fields for miles and miles. I sang songs to myself and had conversations with my monkey mind. The terrain here rivals northern Indiana for levelness. So my legs were having no trouble at all.

I stopped at every store and bought either food or drink, fearful that I’d hit a string of closed shops. 

In Colerain I stopped for an early lunch. Cafe 45 was not listed on my maps but the food was cheap and tasty. At last!

The rest of the day was more pool table riding with increasing heat and humidity. A customer in the cafe told me my destination, Plymouth,  was a cute fishing town. 

After miles of farmland I climbed bridges over the Cashie, Middle, and Roanoke Rivers. Very pretty. Then I rode into Plymouth. What a disappointment. I called a campground 30 miles further on. They were booked. 

The motels in Plymouth were either a Holiday Inn Express or two run down motels. I opted for one of the motels. No cable, no TV, no WiFi. I complained at the desk. The dude fixed the TV and cable but said I was too far from the WiFi. Then he said the WiFi comes and goes with the weather. I said lower by bill. No, the manager says WiFi is complementary and not part of the bill. 

I had checked in to the Monte Python Inn!

If you want you can leave and get a refund but you have to leave in 5 minutes. (This is actually what I was told.)

Well since the AC and the shower worked I decided to stay. I am sitting outside connecting to another room’s WiFi.

There are no restaurants in sight so my convenience store stash will have to suffice for dinner. 

I should have known Plymouth would be a problem. This is the town funeral home. 

You can’t make this stuff up.

Well the day was nice until now. I made it 68 miles. So far that makes 361.5 miles in 5 days. Tomorrow I plan to ride to New Bern. 

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 363 miles (584 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Jeff LeeHey John,

I'm enjoying your journal. It brings back memories of a tour I did in 2008, which included a lot of the ACA Atlantic Coast route (south to north in my case.)

I wonder if your seedy motel was the same one where I stayed in Plymouth? Mine was memorably bad in general, but had good WiFI:

https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/littledebbie/day-11-maysville-nc-to-plymouth-nc/

Jeff
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Mike AylingJohn Cleese of Monty Python starred in Fawlty Towers which was run on a similar basis to the place you encountered.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
John PickettTo Jeff LeeThat's the place! What a dump.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
John PickettTo Mike AylingBasil Fawlty. Very funny show.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago