Out of Savannah - The No Way So Hey Tour - CycleBlaze

September 27, 2017

Out of Savannah

I left Savannah a little after 8 because I stopped at Clary’s Cafe for breakfast. I wasted 15 minutes trying to find it because the Google lied! 

The Savannah Pensione was a funky little place, just right for my bike touring vibe. I wouldn’t bring Mrs. Rootchopper there though. Too bare bones.

The ride out of Savannah was every bit as awful as the ride in. Savannah had a huge seaport and trucks carrying containers are everywhere. I managed to miss a turn and rode tight to the port. Ack! I am little. Container trucks are huge. Kudos to the drivers who were very careful around me. 

I corrected my error only to make another goof. My 50 States team back home is probably laughing as they read this. 

I got back on track and spent the next seven hours sweltering on my bike. I took my friend Lesly’s suggestion and stopped for Coke and bananas from time to time. 

I back tracked over 60 miles to get back on the main North/South route. (Savannah lies to the east of the route.) 

I began to notice that the roads weren’t so level anymore. I had to get to my campground by 5 so I was grinding up the inclines (“hills” would overstate the topography).

I begged for clouds to cover the sun. They complied. The last 15 miles were not exactly pleasant but I did manage to arrive before 5 at Gordonia-Alatamaha State Park. This place is much nicer than the mosquito invested campground in South Carolina. 

It also has a diner nearby for breakfast and a Dairy Queen about 200 yards from the entrance. I went to the DQ right after I ate the sammies I bought on route. I had a large vanilla shake in air conditioned comfort.

My upper back is sore. Not from riding but from lifting the bike over curbs at convenience stores and restaurants. I can’t believe how much this beast weighs.

I am ready for some reading and some sleep. My total today was 93.5 miles. Trip total is 1,157.5. 

Today's ride: 94 miles (151 km)
Total: 1,161 miles (1,868 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0