Conclusion - Key Note - CycleBlaze

March 2, 2022

Conclusion

Snake Valley

   I have mixed feelings about this ride and route. I could have been better physically prepared for the ride. That certainly would have helped with some of the soreness. The last-minute saddle replacement wasn’t an issue until Day Four. Then it was an issue. The mixed trail/road route is okay, but the constant traffic is irksome. At times, there is really no room for a separate bike lane. When there is a break in the traffic and it is quiet, you notice. I had pretty good weather, although a few afternoons got into the mid-eighties. The sun pinked me up even though I used sunscreen and had a fancy hat. The scenery was spectacular, the blues and greens of the sea, sky and foliage were magical. Having done the ride, I don't think I’d do it again.

Heart 2 Comment 0

   After we left Key West we drove toward Florida’s west coast along Highway 41. We stopped at Shark Valley in the Everglades National Park and I rode the fifteen mile loop in the late afternoon in cool and cloudy conditions. Riding through the sea of grass among alligators, herons, egrets, storks and crows with only the wind and birdsong, I felt I had finally found the Florida I was searching for.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 16 miles (26 km)
Total: 209 miles (336 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Kathleen JonesNice ride. Good for you for getting out there. And good for your other half for helping out.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
marilyn swettWe just spent several days in the Keys and Everglades and came away with the same conclusion you had - pretty ocean and maybe some interesting areas, but not a place we'll likely come back to. The riding is not great, too much traffic and too expensive. We tried to get into Shark Valley, but got stopped at the gate as there were some school buses in the lot with no parking for our trailer. They weren't letting in any more people until the school groups left.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Glenn HintonYo. Glad you found the Florida you were looking for! Great journey. Pedal on.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago