Sturgeon Bay - Sister Bay, WI - The Only Thing Fast On This Tour Is The Ferry - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2021

Sturgeon Bay - Sister Bay, WI

Heart 0 Comment 1
jerry witherspoonYou’re breaking my heart!!!

spoon
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Why is it that I always need something semi troubling to mull over? Last night's issue was the weather. Again. I had a nice 42 mile route worked out for today - but if it was really going to rain, then I planned on the 31 mile direct route. This morning showed, no rain, moderate temperatures, a headwind that would turn into a slight tailwind later. What's not to like? A bag n go breakfast - that's what I didn't like. We had stopped at the grocery store last night and bought fruit, milk, and Cliff bars. I asked for two bananas, and somehow we ended up with seven! Jacinto carried them all. As a fact, he carried about everything. He is indeed a good sherpa.

I wasn't in any hurry today. It's a short day, not much climbing. Not too hot. We wheeled out the door just before 11 AM. We rode together as far as the first lake overlook. We took some photos, then I left, thinking Jacinto was right behind me. It turns out he ended up talking to a couple for quite a while. The man said to Jacinto that he looked like he was really struggling. Jacinto was puzzled. Struggling? Why was that? Because Jacinto was pedaling standing up. Jacinto couldn't quite convince the man that standing up is his preferred way to pedal.

We had occasional lake views today. I was hoping for more openness and buildings to look at. Instead, I got golf courses. Lots and lots of golf courses. So many that I asked google how many golf courses are in Door County. The unspecific official answer is 'more than ten'. I saw six of them. 

Our extended route for today included the Peninsula State Park. AD Carson gave it a strong recommendation. I rode a short section of bike path in the park, but mostly rode the loop around the outside of the mitten. There were many mountain bikers and hikers. I finally broke down and called Jacinto. He was four miles behind me. I got all the way around the park, to the climb out. Just then, Jacinto showed up behind me. Plus, a couple on road bikes who appeared to be 10-15 years older than us. All three of them passed me on the bottom of the granny gear climb. In short order, we had a descent into Ephraim. Jacinto went around the couple on the steep descent, but I held back and let them stay in front. Ephraim looks like an interesting town. It's a tourist place, but not so large as to be overwhelming. My original thought was to bicycle back there for lunch tomorrow. That would be six miles round trip. I'm having second thoughts now that I know about the honking climb up Church Street leaving town. That and the fact that AD has suggested the Al Johnson restaurant's swedish meatballs. There are 23 photos of the meatballs on google reviews - plus the fact that they have live goats grazing on their live lawn roof. How often do you see that? 

In the meanwhile Jacinto has decided he's riding 36 miles tomorrow. I'm pitching the idea that we walk to brunch, then he can go for a ride. I'm not sure if I was persuasive. Jacinto doesn't want to leave too early, but he doesn't want to go too late, either. I'm feeling lazy for not riding - but 11 riding days in a row should earn me a day off? 

We are at the Nordic Lodge in their king apartment. It has a full living room with a fireplace, a sofa, and two recliners. I'm planted in one recliner now and might not move at all. Except for dinner. I will go to dinner! 

I'm happy to have a good layover spot. Food could be closer - but, this is good. 

I have 1,403 miles for the month of July. Starting a tour on the first of the month makes it easy to keep track of miles.

AD Carson is joining us in Algoma. I made a last minute change to our lodging there because I went back and read Andersons' journal. They happened to stay at the same place we were booked at, but found it cramped to put their Bike Fridays' inside. Forget that! If their folding bikes are an issue, my eight foot long recumbent will be an issue. I went with their second recommendation of Harbor Inn. Jacinto laughed and said AD was going to think I'm crazy for changing my mind. He was gracious. 

This might be the only photo of me on my bike this trip.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Scott AndersonIf this is the only one, I guess we’d better like it then.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Notice the brisk wind blowing that flag. It is not in our favor.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Egg Harbor.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A good old Ford to make up for the Chevy yesterday.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is a road, not a bike path. Who needs lines on their road anyway?
Heart 2 Comment 0
We rode down Wandering Road.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I could hear the water, even if I couldn’t see it well.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I would like to see the full effect of the gate when closed. It looked very Aspen style.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A typical Wisconsin farm.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Near Sturgeon Bay.
Heart 2 Comment 0
At the same spot.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 1,402 miles (2,256 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0