Day 57: Denham Rest day 2 - Katherine to Perth 2022 - CycleBlaze

September 13, 2022

Day 57: Denham Rest day 2

The winds did arrive today, it was extremely blustery when I woke up. Unfortunately it was a northerly and I was not riding. Let’s not mention that again. 

I got a surprisingly alright coffee from the bakery. There’s an outside chance my coffee standards have slipped during this trip. 

Mum and Dad went to the Discovery Centre in Denham while I waited for my tyre which was supposed to turn up between 9 and 12. Right on 12, I got a call from the owner of the villas where were staying saying he had a parcel for me. There are several properties owned by Wildsights and the package had somehow gone to his house. 

When I saw the label I was surprised it found me that easily
Heart 1 Comment 0

It was rolled up, which Schwalbe don’t do, but hopefully I’ll be able to fit it tomorrow and make it to Perth. Or at least Geraldton. 

After lunch, we drove out to Peron Homestead, exploring Denham’s residential and light industrial estates on the way. Peron was a French explorer. The entire top of the peninsula above denham is now national park and the homestead is about 7k in off the Monkey Mia road. Apparently the homestead used to be in Denham but the shearers got too drunk at the pub so they moved the sheds out there. Because the scrub is so thick, they didn’t muster sheep, they waited at water troughs until the sheep came in then herded them through long fenced laneways. One of the lanes was so long it took two days to walk. 

The homestead is now parks accommodation but you can walk through the shearing sheds and  outbuildings and there’s an artesian hot tub, which is basically just a bore flowing into a cement tank. The water comes out at 40 degrees. You can soak in it but not for too long as it’s so warm. Mum and I went in the hot tub while Dad looked fruitlessly for mallee fowls. 

Then we drove back a little way to Little Lagoon. It was still very windy but swinging around, gearing up for big southerlies tomorrow. 

It is ringed with white sand beach
Heart 2 Comment 0
Imagine how big big lagoon is
Heart 0 Comment 0

There is a walking track back to town, so I said I would do that. As I was preparing to head off, Tessa and Phoebe, the teachers from Melbourne, pulled into the carpark. I thought they must’ve overtaken me when I didn’t see them between here and Coral Bay but they must’ve spent longer than I realised up there. They are going up the Peron national park, being significantly more adventurous than us, but we’ll hopefully be in Kalbarri at the same time. I had quite a long chat with them before they headed into the hot tub and I walked back into town. 

I saw my first emu of the trip on the outskirts of Denham
Heart 3 Comment 0

We had fish and chips and leftover curry for dinner. What a combo. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0