Day 51: Coral Bay to Yalabia Rest Area - Katherine to Perth 2022 - CycleBlaze

September 7, 2022

Day 51: Coral Bay to Yalabia Rest Area

tldr: I rode a lot today through sandy dunes/plains 

I got up and away early, after enjoying my orange, I was on the road by 6:15. It was cold as the sun hadn’t come up over the dunes yet. The wind was much lower than the past two days so I made it back out to the road and turned south quite quickly. 

The road headed across big mostly grassy plains, although most of the termite mounds had ended.

I also crossed back into the sub tropics
Heart 4 Comment 0

About 10:30, I made it to the (dry) Lyndon River Rest Area which was fairly unprepossessing but the toilet was nice. There was no shoulder the whole way although there were widening the 4K before the highway, which just meant roadworks but they held the lights for me. I made it to Minilya Bridge roadhouse by about 1:30. I had my usual lunch of cold drink, icecream and hot chips. Minilya is definitely not one of the thriving roadhouses. The caravan park did look a bit nicer than Fortescue river, though. There’s also a rest area just across the bridge which was already looking busy. But if I want to get to Carnarvon tomorrow, I have to do a big day, so I decided to do it today and have an afternoon in Carnarvon (hopefully). 

So I rode out at 2, to do another 50k to the Yalabia Rest Area. There was still a little headwind so it was a bit of a struggle. Particularly the final 10k when there were some small sand dunes to conquer. 

Late afternoon windmill
Heart 4 Comment 0

Finally, just after 5, I reached the rest area and found myself a table, roughly 10m from the road. The whole rest area is probably only 20m wide between the road and a sand dune. Still popular though, with about 15 vans. I was too tired to talk to many other campers or care about the road noise, but I have reached 90k from Carnarvon. 

Today's ride: 145 km (90 miles)
Total: 3,590 km (2,229 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0