Day 41: Cossack Rest day 1 - Katherine to Perth 2022 - CycleBlaze

August 28, 2022

Day 41: Cossack Rest day 1

Today, I didn’t get on my bike at all. Cossack township is a little way inland along the river so I went for a walk down to Settler’s beach this morning. I passed the cemetery which has a sad European part with lots of kids and infants and a Japanese section that I’m sure is also sad. 

It’s harder to understand these gravestones but I bet these Japanese people didn’t think they’d end up buried here
Heart 3 Comment 0
Settlers beach is huge but not good for swimming at low tide
Heart 3 Comment 0
The lighthouse is unfortunately on an island
Heart 1 Comment 0

The Cossack police quarters provide cereal and milk and raisin toast for breakfast. That solved my breakfast dilemma for today! There was a makers market on the verandah of the court house and a guy playing live music at the cafe so it was very lively. There were heaps of people come out for the day. I got a coffee which was pretty average but caffeinated. I also saw Jeff, the American hippy from Kununurra backpackers who gave me a painted rock for luck. He’s staying in karratha on his slow way back to Melbourne. 

We went to Wickham, a Rio Tinto town in the middle of the peninsula which had very little going for it except a nice lookout and a well stocked Woolworths. 

Last night it was just us and another couple in the five rooms of the police barracks but a family with two little boys and two grandparents arrived so it’s not as quiet tonight. 

In the afternoon I walked up the small hill behind town.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0