Day 4: Timber Creek to Saddle Creek Rest Area - Katherine to Perth 2022 - CycleBlaze

July 22, 2022

Day 4: Timber Creek to Saddle Creek Rest Area

I was determined to get off earlier today so I set an alarm for 5:15. I misjudged it slightly as it didn’t get light enough to ride til about 6:45, so that’s when I trundled out. It was delightful to watch the sun rise over the escarpment as I rode. It was cold enough to need my jacket for its intended purpose, not a pillow or seat.

I felt justified in not going to the lookout yesterday as it was about 5ks out to the turn off. I still didn’t ride up the hill. I did stop at the Bradshaw Bridge, built by the military to access their training fields on the northern side. I looked at the moon reflected in the still murky green water and thought, that is one brave houseboat. 

Heart 3 Comment 0

The Big Horse Creek campground looked nice, and actually still had Telstra reception, but I had gotten away so early that I consoled myself I could’ve been leaving there at 7:30 anyway. 

The escarpments quickly gave way to more swampy savannah. There are lots of boab trees which are fun to look at. 

Boab and long morning shadows
Heart 5 Comment 0

I made good time to the East Baines Rest Area, where I ate an apple and one of the disintegrating muesli bars that has been rolling around my pannier for so long I can’t even remember when I bought it. 

It was only 10:30 then so I pressed on. I rode off without putting my high vis vest on but even after I’d done that I was convinced I’d left something behind cause it was too easy on such a flat road with a tailwind. 

It was open country with great views of a distant escarpment on the right and an even more distant hill ahead. Some caravanners had told me last night they’d stop and give me a cold water bottle. I thought they must’ve gone past while I was stopped but they pulled up when I was about 70k from Timber Creek and gave me a cold bottle and a frozen bottle of sparkling water. 

Road train traffic picked up around midday, including Megan’s friend’s partner, I think, or at least someone in a yellow truck who I gave a very cheery wave to. But still only meant getting off the road three or four times. 

The whole second leg was working towards this distant hill, which I thought might be the saddle in Saddle Creek Rest Area. It was close but the road wound between a few hills before the rest area. I was quite tired by the end, even though I had been making good time and got to the rest area before 2. The gourmet tour continued with a pre-smushed banana and peanut butter wrap. But the defrosted sparkling water was just right to enjoy. 

It is a nice rest area, with good views and a cliff behind and some trees and no stinky dump point. I thought about continuing on because it was so early but I don’t really need to, Lake Argyle will be about the same distance again tomorrow, so I decided to have a nap on a picnic bench instead. 

It’s getting busy but I might just claim cyclist privilege and camp in the picnic shelter.

Today's ride: 115 km (71 miles)
Total: 415 km (258 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Megan HolzwartWhat I am learning from your blog entries is that caravaners are the real MVPs of cycle touring. Seriously though, I love your blog. Also, am going to need more information than 'yellow' to identify the driver of the road train.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago