Day 37: Sandfire to Pardoo - Katherine to Perth 2022 - CycleBlaze

August 24, 2022

Day 37: Sandfire to Pardoo

At 3am, a flock (if that’s the right word) of squawking bats returned to their roost in the mango trees. I decided them to turn my 5am alarm off and not try to hustle away so early in the morning. The workers staying in the cabin a left at 5:30 anyway but I enjoyed the extra half hour sleep. 

Ingrid has mentioned peacocks at Sandfire and I’d seen a few last night. 

Turns out the place is lousy with them
Heart 0 Comment 0

My German friend was still asleep on his rest day when I rolled out at 6:45. It was actually a little cool with such a tailwind! It was much quicker than yesterday. I started at almost the same time but could go 20kph from the beginning today. Mum and Dad has left 80mile beach by 8 so they came back up the road just under 20k to say hello and give me an apple before heading into Port Hedland. 

One tall tree at a station entrance
Heart 4 Comment 1
Jen SilcockOwenia reticulata (desert walnut)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Wapet (WA petroleum) road, leads somewhere out to near Fitzroy crossing. John Hill told me he’d driven it many times and never seen a single other vehicle on it
Heart 3 Comment 0

Just after the halfway mark I stopped to eat Dad’s apple and some double stuffed oreos. Potentially in normal life I would think these are too sweet but now I think they’re such an improvement on normal oreos. I think I might be even more in calorie deficit than usual. 

I didn’t help matters by deciding to push on to the roadhouse for lunch. 

I only stopped to take a photo of these brolgas in a clay pan. They just sit there while road trains rumble past but take off when I stop to photograph them
Heart 2 Comment 0

I made it to the roadhouse by about 2. I was so hungry I bought a veggie pattie and salad wrap and ate half of it before I remembered I had to organise camping as well. So I went back into the roadhouse and bought an ice cream and paid my $15 for camping. It is much nicer to be able to set up and shower in the daytime. I also bought another sandwich from the roadhouse as afternoon tea before pasta and pesto for dinner. 

Pardoo roadhouse
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 140 km (87 miles)
Total: 2,517 km (1,563 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0