Day 30: Broome to Broome Bird Observatory - Katherine to Perth 2022 - CycleBlaze

August 17, 2022

Day 30: Broome to Broome Bird Observatory

I slept in til 7 in my dark room by myself! Kenny had already been up and out for coffee as he doesn’t have a room by himself. It looked like it had rained but it could’ve just been a really heavy mist. 

I went for a walk around Chinatown, after getting another coffee from a different place near the hostel. 

Misty view of Roebuck Bay
Heart 3 Comment 0
Lots of fiddler crabs near the old Streeters jetty at low tide
Heart 1 Comment 0

I had exactly the same coffee and wrap at the same cafe again, then headed back to check out. I took a ride to Town Beach, stopping to read all the signs about old pearlers camps, and the Japanese bombing of Broome Harbour in 1942, when lots of Dutch refugee ships from Indonesia were in the harbour. 

You can take fun photos of a loaded touring bike but you have to be prepared for the questions, even if you’re just pootling between accommodation
Heart 5 Comment 0

I saw some turtles from the jetty and watched a guy catch a fish. He got even more attention and questions than a cycle tourist. 

Then I headed for the bird observatory. I wasn’t sure how long it would take but the wind wasn’t too bad to get back to the turn off, and the road which was described as sandy and corrugated was being graded and often had a hard packed line down the middle for a bike. I arrived about 1 and bought a cold drink.

The chalet! Unfortunately we couldn’t book it for a third night but we booked a room/campsite
Heart 3 Comment 0

Mum and Dad arrived about 2:40. Dad immediately booked onto the 3pm bush and plains bird tour. Unfortunately there was only one spot left so Mum and I had to have lunch in the comfortable chalet and go for a walk on the beach. 

The bird observatory is about 10k east of Broome on Roebuck Bay
Heart 1 Comment 0

Dad had a great time on the tour and saw a yellow chat (I think which is very rare but looks quite similar to the orange chat and I could be mixing them up). 

Today's ride: 30 km (19 miles)
Total: 1,989 km (1,235 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0