Day 29: Broome’s Gateway to Broome - Katherine to Perth 2022 - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2022

Day 29: Broome’s Gateway to Broome

I had a fairly slow morning, as generally happens when I don’t actively hustle and was suddenly riding out at 8:30 rather than 5:30. I did sleep an extra hour and a half on yesterday but what I did with the other 90 minutes I couldn’t really say. 

It was very busy on the Broome entrance road but there was still a tailwind to push me along. They’re upgrading the Cape Leveque turnoff and the roadworks are short but not great for cyclists. At the other end of the roadworks was an industrial estate so I thought I was close but there was still another 10k of bushblocks and scrub before town. They’re also laying or replacing water pipes all along the side of the road adding to the messiness. A few kilometres out I got a cycle path! I followed it in, past the airport which is right in town, followed signs for town centre and was suddenly in a block that could have been Noosa or Byron Bay, right down to everyone’s trendy clothing. I mean I did wash my clothes but there’s still a definite red tinge to most of my shirt. Anyway, I got a real coffee and a breakfast wrap. My first real coffee since Kununurra and I reckon I enjoyed it more than my first beer. 

Then I found my way to the backpackers, and was able to check in to my dorm, which has no one else in it! I rode to the bikeshop I’d talked to from Kununurra and he had a quick check of my spokes, chain and frame. Unfortunately he doesn’t have time to service it but I did get some more chain lube, a cassette remover and some new bike shorts. 

I decided to ride to Cable Beach. On the way, I passed a camping store and bought myself a new shirt, and a drive through coffee cart outside the Japanese cemetery where I had another coffee in the shade. It was also delightful.

I’ve made it to the Indian Ocean!
Heart 6 Comment 0

I had a beer to celebrate. As I was drinking it I saw a woman ride past on a Koga, I’m sure it’s the Dutch/Belgians that Davin mentioned but I wasn’t quick enough to call out. 

I got lost in a housing estate on the way back and thought I might be stuck there forever but eventually made it back to the hostel to see Kenny. He and Davin seemed to have a good time on the way across, although Kenny’s front tyre packed up on the final days and he had several flats, ran out of inner tubes and damaged his rim trying to ride into Roebuck on a flat tyre until Davin came out to rescue him with a borrowed tube. He’s been here longer so been able to book his bike in for a service and they’re packing it up for his flight home tomorrow. 

We went to the Roebuck Bay hotel for dinner. Kenny was leading and for some reason led us through the skimpies bar to the beer garden. It was quite a contrast between the bars. I had a delicious vegetarian pizza. 

We were sitting at a long table out the back. It was trivia night. We asked to join the group next to us on the table. I don’t think we contributed much but the team we’d joined ended up winning. 

Today's ride: 35 km (22 miles)
Total: 1,959 km (1,217 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1