Morocco Part 2: Cats of Chefchaouen - Of Kasbahs and Kilts - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2015

Morocco Part 2: Cats of Chefchaouen

Chefchaouen has an amazing number of cats roaming the streets. When I first saw them I thought, something like, "...those poor cats, they have no home and no one to take care of them...".

But I soon learned that wasn't the case. These cats seemed to be owned and taken care of by the whole town. From my observation they are loved, or at least liked and appreciated, by the towns people who feed and look after them. And many seemed to feed and look after them. No cats that I saw were especially skittish. I had no trouble approaching or petting them. That tells me they are pet a lot.

The cats of Chefchaouen were a part of the community. It was yet one more interesting thing about the town.

Cats of Chefchaouen
Heart 1 Comment 0
This little guy posed nicely in front of a painting for sale
Heart 1 Comment 0
Snoozing
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bread was the staple giveaway from the townspeople and this little family is having a feast. Perhaps bread is not the most healthy thing for cats, though I am sure the cats supplemented their diet with critters. I doubt rodents and other pests stand much of a chance in town.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0