Day 8: Back in the saddle again - Of Kasbahs and Kilts - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2015

Day 8: Back in the saddle again

I was gassed around 30 miles. But that's okay cause it was only 35 miles to the train station. Feeling a bit tired but on the mend.

I rode to the train staion in Valladolid (please don't ask me to pronounce it) and bought a ticket to Fromista, which is on the Camino Frances route of the Camino de Santago. I had planned to ride all the way, of course, and end up in Sahagun but that was my 2 days in bed.

Anyway, I got to the train station, bought my ticket and had some lunch. Then I blew the rest the money left on my Spanish cell phone to call my dad. It's Father's Day you know! Happy Father's Day, Dad!

It was a lovely ride today. There is something about riding down a quite road with the sound or tires rolling over pavement, tree leaves and crops rustling, and birds chirping and singing in the wind that can't be matched by any other form of transportation.

Fromistra is a bit of a shock though. There are tons of "Pilgrams" here and I am in an Alberge with, I think, about 50 beds and the place is almost full. So much for quiet Camino Madrid.

Tomorrow should be intereresting. Most everyone here is heading west. I will be the catfish amoungst the salmon, riding east away from Santiago and God, and will need to follow the arrows backwards (and find the arrows since they are posted for west bounders). My guess is I can just follow the stream of salmon?

I will let you know how it goes.

Until then...

P.S., pics another time. I'm pooped tonight.

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 290 miles (467 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0