Day 6 - 7: On hold - Of Kasbahs and Kilts - CycleBlaze

June 17, 2015

Day 6 - 7: On hold

I forgot to mention something about my doctors appointment the other day. She asked if I was allergic to any drugs. I tried to explain sulfa but that wasn't working through interpreter so I said I tolerate amoxicillin well, so that's what I got.

Except I woke up yesterday morning a total mess--flat on my back, with chills and nausea and weakness and, severe, er, "drainage issues."

I wont bore you with the details, but Dusam, my interpreter was long gone, so the effort and frustration of trying to get to the bottom of things with language barrier, while in such a compromised state physically, almost brought me to tears, and was enough to have me seriously think of quitting the whole tour, going home, and getting myself back together, health wise.

Then I remembered the English speaking pharmacist who could help interpret and answer other questions. She said the drug I got had two antibiotics and The second one must have done it. She went over to the doctors office (for some reason didn't call on the phone) and got me a new perscription that is just amoxicillin, that cost 2.5 euros.

Anyway, I was a total mess, as I said, and just needed a hotel. The woman who owned the bar made me tea and let me use wifi to figure out plan. I found hotel 10km away and soft pedaled over and went right to bed. Then, this morning, I booked a second night.

To emphasize the state I was in, I am normally pretty protective of my bike, and have even gotten in arguments with hotel owners about having it in my room. Yesterday the owner said, "I can store your bike in my garage," and I handed it over with barely a thought. I just didn't care. I still don't know where it is but I'm sure she's okay. This is a family run place and they have been super nice to me!

I am modifying things because of all this, trip wise because I still have to get to Bilboa and have lost at least 2 days. Its nothing a short train ride cant fix I'm sure.

Hopefully I will be back on the bike tomorrow.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0