Day 34: Oh, Crap. Not again! - Of Kasbahs and Kilts - CycleBlaze

July 18, 2015

Day 34: Oh, Crap. Not again!

This happened to me once before, in Colorado when I rode cross-country. I heard that familiar "thunk, thunk, thunk" on my back wheel and when I examined it further I saw my rim was split.

I HATE it when that happens!

But we were lucky. We were only an hour or so from Pitlochry and they had a bike shop. I loosened my rear brakes and nursed The Trucker the next 30 minutes or so, hoping they had a rim, which they did.

"It's a cheap one, not nearly as good as the one you have," the bike shop guy said.

But I only need it one more week. Besides, what choice did I have?

"I'll take it," I said.

Even without that today's ride was weird. The morning was mostly up hill, into a head wind, in cloudy, rainy conditions. The afternoon rocked, with sunny skies, tailwinds and down hills.

And even with the morning's bikes shop delay we made it all the way to our destination just this side of Newtonmore.

I have to say, the last 15 or so miles was some of the most fun I have ever had on a bike. Beautiful scenery, sunny skies and easy riding. Loved it!

The morning was a bit chilly, but nice just the same with pretty country lanes
Heart 1 Comment 0
See what I mean. Pretty country lanes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Making our way across the bridge at Pitlochry towards the bike shop.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another pretty bridge
Heart 2 Comment 0
The bikes needed a rest. It was hard rolling through the headwinds!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Following our route 7
Heart 0 Comment 0
What! I think I will keep off then.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
WOO-HOOO!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Good stuff
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 1,403 miles (2,258 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0