Day 26: By creaks and bounds - Of Kasbahs and Kilts - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2015

Day 26: By creaks and bounds

The Trucker is sick. I am not totally sure what the problem is but she creaks, loudly, on each pedal stroke. Leo and Steph think its the bottom bracket or cranks.

But its not The Trucker you should feel sorry for. You should feel sorry for me. It is driving me insane. I have never calculated how many times the pedals turn on a ride of 30 to 60 or so miles, And the hmore hilly the ride the more pedal strokes because lower gears have to turn more times than larger gears to cover the same distance, but trust me, its a lotta pedal strokes.

I hope you are giving me credit for my bravery in this ordeal. This is not the first day I have noticed this but it is getting worse, or at least louder.

Anyway, today we took the train part of the way then made our way towards Yorkshire. The first part of the ride wasn't much to speak of, with busy roads and not much to see. But the last 15 or so was beautiful! We rode, or more accurately mountain biked, along a canal.

Tomorrow we head further into Yorkshire. It is supposed to be very hilly, which means LOTS of pedal strokes and lots of creaks.

Until then...

Heart 1 Comment 0
Aint that a beautiful canal.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The bikes waiting for the train
Heart 0 Comment 0
Those white wolly things in the distance are sheep
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 912 miles (1,468 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0