Day 14: Ambling and dilly dallying - Of Kasbahs and Kilts - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2015

Day 14: Ambling and dilly dallying

I can't believe I'm saying this but I had a marvelous day today. The reason I can't believe I'm saying it is that I only rode 11 miles.

I set off on the Bilbao bike path and explored, and dillydallied, and I was, frankly, a bit lazy.

Being Saturday lots of people were out on the bike paths, walking paths and just out and about. I marveled at the bike lane system. Why can't more cities in the United States have this kind of system!? Spain is having economic problems but they can still have nice things like bike freeways and infrastructure for the common man. Why can't we have that? Maybe it's because we spent too much money on bombs?

Anyway, it was a nice, sunny day and I rode into town and heard singing. Beautiful singing actually coming from a mens choir. I rode in the direction of the music and stumbled upon a little festival that had food from different countries. So I bought some African chicken of some kind, that was delicious, and listened to the choir. I gotta say, those guys had some serious pipes.



After that I wandered around the waterfront until later in the afternoon and then ambled over to my hotel.

In two days I head to the Land of Scones. I better get packing.

See, look at those bike paths. Ain't that a beautiful sight!?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Look at this. Cars, bikes and walkers all coexisting in harmony!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Brace yourself, you are gunna see a lot of bike path pics today
Heart 0 Comment 0
And non "athletes" were enjoying the paths too...
Heart 0 Comment 0
They even have bike paths running smack dab in the city!
Heart 0 Comment 0
This section went over a freeway. It was about a kilometer of this kind of wind block semi-tunnel. Cool!
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was a men's choir. They were good!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think this is a politcal protest from Basque Separatists?
Heart 0 Comment 0
This one is for Bob. Yes, I know I have many Bob friends, but there is one in particular. He knows who he is.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 11 miles (18 km)
Total: 474 miles (763 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0