Day 12: Heading north - Of Kasbahs and Kilts - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2015

Day 12: Heading north

Sacrificing my dignity one photo at a time
Heart 0 Comment 0

I have enjoyed The Camino de Santiago, even if it was Regresso, and for only a short stretch. i can see why people like it. In fact it reminds me a lot of the popular bike routes in America that I have done such as the Pacific Coast or Western Express/Trans Am route. I can see how people walking sort of go at their own pace and make connections along the way. A fellowship and commraderie develop through common interests and suffering.

It would certianly be a challenge to walk. As a catfish amoungst the salmon I was able to note the condition of most people as the day progressed. In the morning most hikers looked spry, but by late morning/early afternoon they started to deteriorate. More than once I walked into an alberge only to find one or more walkers asleep in their bunk totally shattered. And I have seen enough foot and leg injuries to last a lifetime.

I know I have looked that way on occasion--riding up to Carson Pass in California, or on a hot, 70-plus mile day in the Nevada sun. But it's those experiences that make the trip memorable, and a challenge. Anyone can sit on their sofa all day.

The Camino is big business, don't get me wrong. There is a noticable difference in the towns on The Camino compared to those that are not (generally speaking) in apperance, maintenance and services, all of which cost money. Money is flowing through with each hiker/cyclist.

But that doesn't seem to discourage kindness of most people on the route. They are supportive and encouraging.

All in all it was a great experience and I can envision coming back, with a mountain bike! :-)

Anyway, I rode for about 20 miles on The Camino and then pointed The Trucker north. I ended up in Haro and my first official campground of the trip. Tomorrow I head north to Bilbao. I am hoping to ride but have not ruled out a train because I am not totally sure on routing. I will look into it and let you know when I know.

Until then...

Mother walking The Camino with 2 sons
Heart 0 Comment 0
That would be me
Heart 0 Comment 0
Typical architecture for this region
Heart 0 Comment 0
Santa Domingo. Nice town though I didnt stay long.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My first offical campground of the trip. Everything looking tidy and ship shape.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 422 miles (679 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0