Which Bicycle? - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

Which Bicycle?

All spring I was back-and-forth on which bicycle to use on this trip - my Trek Belleville or my Schwinn Typhoon. Each has advantages and disadvantages. I can go farther in a day on the Trek, but the Schwinn is more comfortable. I finally settled on the Trek, since there are a few planned long days, where places to camp (or motels to stay in) are far apart. On June 15, I got that bike out for a day-ride to nearby Washington, Illinois. Due to arthritis-like issues I've been having lately, I found using the hand brakes difficult that day, and my hands were quite painful that night.

So, on June 25, I tried another day-ride to Washington, this time on the Schwinn, with its coaster brake. That worked much better. So, the Schwinn it'll be!

June 25, 2016 - this bike will work!
Heart 0 Comment 0

On July 16, I changed out the tires used on my last trip with the new tires I carried along on that trip. That was another test for my hands, and was successful, with the help of tire levers.

While changing the tires, I checked the chain, and was surprised to see that there are places where it is binding, even after all the attention/use I gave it last year! So I purchased a replacement chain - a KMC Z510HX - and got it installed on August 2.

gummed-up old chain
Heart 1 Comment 0

The bike should be ready now. I hope I will be also!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0