The Diversion - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

The Diversion

On May 30, 2013, I was sitting in a Columbus, Kansas, motel room, trying to figure out what to do about falling further and further behind schedule on my bicycle trip to the far corners of Kansas and Nebraska. That day I finally decided to skip my planned diversion into the middle of Kansas, and head straight west through the state. I have a four-week opportunity this year to go back and see some of what I missed then. But since it's just four weeks, I'm going to use Springfield, Missouri - where my sister Laurie and her husband Bill live - as my home-base.

Standard pre-trip planning again this year: place push-pins on the Google Earth globe for places to stay and where to turn, then convert and load that file into my GPS units. Highlights this year will be riding on the Prairie Spirit Trail and the Flint Hills Nature Trail (which I see is more-complete than it was in 2013). If I stay on-route/on-schedule, my turn-around point will be Big Basin near Ashland, Kansas. The return leg back to Springfield is routed through northern Oklahoma, and I'm hoping to bag another tri-point (Tri-point #20) along the way.

The plan
Heart 0 Comment 2
Marc BrooksHi Jeff, thanks for the comments. I vividly remember your Crazyguyonabike blog where you broke so many spokes on your three speed! I liked reading your profile, and how you got started. I’ll read all your blogs this summer, in between my duties at home. This short trip was much needed. I was able to “slide” downhill on the east side of the dam, but the west side had washed out from heavy rainfall and was treacherous. Locals told me Clark State Lake level was lowered for dam repairs shortly after your Diversion ride. It was still over five feet low in April of this year, but an extremely wet May brought the lake up three feet in one month. I’ll get my profile written soon, since I’m just now getting started on this site. Thanks again for the comments, and I look forward to reading about all your trips.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Marc BrooksMarc,
Interesting information on the water levels of the lake. I didn't know any of that.
I'm looking forward to reading your profile. This morning I located journals of several of your previous trips, which gives me opportunity for some fun reading. Actually, I'm having a hard time not reading them all right now, when I should instead be sending this reply! Seems like you get more than your share of rain and cold. But what beautiful areas to ride in!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I have a new cell phone of my own now - a smart phone - for use on bicycle trips and for receiving phone calls, thanks to my friends George and Kris. The weather radar feature on this new phone is awesome, though there are other features that worked better on George's retired BlackBerry, in my opinion.

Nokia 5180iP TracFone retired after thirteen years, three months, and twenty-seven days of use (between my wife and me), and my new Samsung Galaxy Core Prime
Heart 0 Comment 0
My friend's BlackBerry Storm 9530, retired after use on six touring trips. Thanks George!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0