Day 20 - ending near Pawhuska, OK - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

September 2, 2016

Day 20 - ending near Pawhuska, OK

Posted via email Sat Sep 3 09:44:02 2016 PDT

I knew I was in trouble when I rolled over and saw that my watch read 5:55am. Why did I think I'd wake up early without the alarm? The weather was perfect for sleeping. Vehicles to the west, trains to the east, chickens to the south, and planes overhead. I heard none of it, until I woke up.

With the report still to write, it was going to be a late start. Fortunately, it was a planned short day - 45 miles to Lake Pawhuska, where primitive camping is allowed.

Report done and sent in. Received rejection notice a short time later. Forwarded it all to my friend Kris, for her to sort out. She got it posted for me later in the day. Thanks Kris!

I found a lot of small thorns in the rear tire this morning, but none in the front tire. This tells me my initial de-thorning of this tire wasn't a very good job.

Finally, ready to leave at 10:55am. A short ride south and east brought me to the Country Kitchen Restaurant. The building doesn't look like much on the outside, but there was a crowd on the inside - many enjoying the buffet. Breakfast served here all day, so my late start didn't mess that up, at least. Back outside at 11:48am. A building across the street has painted on its side "Frack It Bar".

The sun was bright enough that I about couldn't see my GPS display. There were points of interest I wanted to see in Ponca City, and I didn't use the most efficient way to get to them. I even had to back-track a little to get to the Standing Bear Museum and Education Center. What I had time to look at and read was very interesting.

Noon mileage, by the way, was 2.3 miles (at 12:05pm).

At 1:05pm, I was heading east on US-60. Five minutes later, I crossed over the Arkansas River. One of those air-driven boats went under the bridge while I was there. There were hills today, and at the top of the first big one, a Dollar General store. I stopped for Beanee Weenies, chocolate milk, and Gatorade. I drank the milk, poured the Gatorade in my ice-filled Klean Kanteen, and carried the rest in a double bag hooked to my flag pole.

At 2:33pm, I came to a flagger/pilot-truck road construction area. They were working ahead on the shoulder I was riding on. The flagger instructed me to use the other shoulder, which I did until I was past it all.

A moderate east wind was against me today. Going uphill seemed easier than downhill, for the hill blocked the wind some.

Going up one of those hills, I stopped to talk with a stranded motorist, whose boat trailer had a flat. She had been following her husband, who had the spare tire with him. She said he'd eventually see she wasn't behind him anymore. An hour later she passed me with a honk and big wave.

When I got close, I decided to see the town of Burbank, and take a picture of their water tower, which I could see from a distance. Hills on both sides of town made me appreciate the smoothed-out highway.

After quite a hill, I arrived at the intersection with OK-18 (at 5:05pm). At 6:12pm, I was at the intersection with CR-5701. I took a break here for, as it turns out, supper (a bag of peanuts). I also enjoyed some more of my ice-cold Gatorade.

Back at it to the finish. Arrived at my turn-off south to Lake Pawhuska at 7:44pm. Stopped at the top of the hill before the descent into the lake area. This stop was for sending out an email, in case there was no cell signal by the lake. At the lake at 8:05pm, and had a camping spot picked out by 8:18pm. It's by an empty parking lot. Tent up and loaded by 8:47pm. Now, to drink what's left of that cold Gatorade. Having a cold drink on the road or in the middle of nowhere seems like cheating, but it sure is good!

Actually awake enough tonight to write the report. I'll proof-read tomorrow. Time for bed (11:30pm).

Jeff

Spent: $11.40 plus $2 (breakfast) + $6.03 (Beanee Weenees, chocolate milk, Gatorade) = $19.43.

Day 20 - Ponca City, OK to Pawhuska, OK
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
+ good food inside - Ponca City, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking along the circle of Standing Bear Native American Memorial Park - Ponca City, OK +
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ outside the entrance to the Standing Bear Museum and Education Center - Ponca City, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 835 miles (1,344 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0