Day 2 - ending at Columbus, KS - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2016

Day 2 - ending at Columbus, KS

rode on Ruby Jack Trail

Posted via email Tue Aug 16 06:01:03 2016 PDT

Good sleeping last night, with no critters bothering me. Woke up at 6:03am, noticing fog across the road in the cow pasture. Finished report writing, then had breakfast - a pack of Cinnamon Roll "Quick Starts", and later, after the bike was packed, a snack pack of fig newtons.

Left at 10:15am, back-tracking north to get to MO-96. A flat road west for me. At 11:13am, I met up with "A14", one of my GPS "Day 1" waypoints. That was for yesterday's planned turn south toward Beagle Bay. The next waypoint I'd meet up with would be "B15", a turn that belonged to today's route.

I arrived in Avilla at 11:54am. This town appears to be quite an attraction for Route 66 enthusiasts with cameras. I stopped here for a different reason - something was wrong with my front wheel. It had too much wobble. A few minutes checking revealed that the right-side axle nut was loose - two whole turns loose! My 14mm wrench fixed that, and I was back on the road.

Noon mileage report: 11.2 miles.

I arrived in Carthage at 1:30pm, and back-tracked some to get a picture of their courthouse - and to look for a place to eat. I passed ice cream places and coffee shops, but I really wanted breakfast food. Then I saw "Pancake Hut"! Stopped there at 1:53pm. Had a Meat Skillet with coffee, orange juice, and cherry pie.

Back on the bike, I arrived at waypoint "B15" at 2:45pm, and the trailhead for the Ruby Jack Trail at 2:56pm. This trail was my planned route to Kansas, though I'd read that some of it wasn't developed yet. At 4:38pm, I came to the undeveloped section. A lot of weeds growing up through graded railroad ballast. For the most part it was surprisingly ride-able.

Near Gulfton, I could see developed trail ahead. Just one more obstacle to get past - an active railroad track. I made it, and was riding fast again. Back in weeds at 6:09pm. This section also had spider webs, big time. Oh well. I planned a motel room stay tonight; the spiders will wash off.

At 6:35pm, only 1.25 miles from Kansas, I had to give up on riding the entire trail. Too many railroad ties blocking the way. But what a pleasant road I found to get me to Kansas. At 6:49pm I arrived at State Line Avenue. Since I had to go north on the Missouri side of the road, I didn't actually step foot into Kansas until I reached Old Highway 96, at 6:59pm.

My destination today was the Budget Inn in Columbus, Kansas - the place where I "diverted" in 2013. I was 11.8 miles away, facing a setting sun on this no-shoulder highway. Turned on my flashers and got started. The sun was actually a little to my right, but I still checked in my mirror that every passing vehicle saw me. This has to be the smoothest road I've been on - not a single crack! Past the intersection with US-69/US-400, I gained a shoulder. I turned on my headlight as it got dark.

Arrived in Columbus at 8:40pm, and the motel at 8:44pm. Was checked-in to a different room this time (room 32), but everything seems the same. It's good to be back!

First thing, I took a shower. Then made decaf coffee to go with my supper. Sorted pictures for the report, then to bed at 12:30am.

Jeff

Spent: $11.41 plus $2.50 tip (lunch) + $57.60 plus $5 (motel) = $76.51.

Day 2 - Phelps, MO to Columbus, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
+ along MO-96 - Avilla, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking southeast across MO-96 at Kellogg Lake Park - Carthage, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ flower along Ruby Jack Trail - Jasper County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking back at a through-town section of Ruby Jack Trail - Carl Junction, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
looking back at State Line Avenue - Missouri on left, Kansas on right
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 94 miles (151 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0