Day 17 - ending at Alva, OK - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

August 30, 2016

Day 17 - ending at Alva, OK

Posted via email Wed Aug 31 03:34:02 2016 PDT

Two cups of coffee might have had something to do with not being able to fall asleep last night. Slept a little, then around 3:00am, watched part of an old movie where a plane crash-lands in a remote spot, and all the passengers need to work together.

Got out of bed at 5:37am, and was ready to leave at 7:05am. This room is very nice, and with the laundry out back, worked out well.

I headed back to the Buffalo Diner for breakfast. After seeing my order on the table, I thought it might be too much food, but it wasn't.

On my way out of town at 8:03am. It was overcast, with a rain line showing on radar to the southeast, heading this way. OK for now, though. I scrapped my plan to go to Alabaster Caverns State Park, since my routing to there included gravel/dirt roads. Headed straight east instead, along US-64, hoping to get to Alva.

Came to a roadside rest area at 9:10am. The shelter here is made completely of road guard rail sections, and the roof, with gaps, doesn't look like good protection from rain.

I saw a few birds this morning that are different. I later learned they are scissor-tailed flycatchers.

At 10:35am, I arrived at the Cimarron River crossing. Quite a different river here than where I crossed it before. Very wide.

Stopped at noon to record mileage: 26.6 miles. I also called my wife. She told me about heavy rain there this morning - enough to flood our street. I've only seen that happen a few times before. Radar now showed the line of rain southeast of me had dissipated.

Arrived at Camp Houston Country Store at 12:47pm. I went in thinking "ice cream", but changed my mind, and ordered their special, with a Dr Pepper. Another "just right" meal.

Back heading east at 1:37pm. The sun was out now, and with some hills, and the wind not helping, it was a workout. The wind picked up more in my face at 3:00pm. I'd saved my ice from lunch, and didn't just sip the ice water I made this afternoon.

Then, at 4:05pm, I came to the top of a hill showing an expansive plain ahead, with clouds shadowing parts of it. I could see Alva's water tower from here - eleven miles away! A beautiful sight. Storms were popping up all around, according to the radar, but there was nothing showing between me and Alva.

Easy riding all the way brought me to Alva's city limits at 5:33pm. Most of the motels are on the east side of town, and I was looking for Alva's Western Motel. On my way through town, I passed a mural. A brochure there informed me that Alva is "Oklahoma's Mural Capital", and this mural is only one of many in town.

Arrived at the motel at 5:53pm, and was in room 26 at 6:05pm. Another nice place to stay. I walked next door to Ampride Cenex for supper items, and bags of peanuts for on-the-road snacking. Watched weather on TV as I ate supper back in my room. Getting off the road early tomorrow might keep me dry.

Started picture-sorting next, but I just could not stay awake. If I go to bed now (9:00pm), and set the alarm for 3:00am, that ought to work. Done.

Jeff

Spent: $12.53 plus $3 (breakfast) + $11.07 plus $2 (lunch) + $45 plus $5 (motel) + $9.23 (supper items, peanuts) = $87.83.

Day 17 - Buffalo, OK to Alva, OK
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ inside room 11 at Buffalo Creek Motel & RV Park - Buffalo, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
+ an Oklahoma roadside rest area - Harper County, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ sighting down the guard rail for the US-64 bridge over Cimarron River - Harper County into Woods County +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ sources for salt water and fresh water - Woods County, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Nathan Boone information along US-64 - Woods County, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ a sad ending for a tractor - Woods County, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 697 miles (1,122 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0