Day 16 - ending at Buffalo, OK - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

August 29, 2016

Day 16 - ending at Buffalo, OK

Posted via email Mon Aug 29 22:21:02 2016 PDT

Woke up at 6:20am, after a fairly good night's sleep. The wind had died down, but it had rained most of the night, as far as I know. Moderate rain at 6:30am, then done for a while at 7:18am. The sun was up a few minutes later, and the meadowlarks began to sing.

Worked on report while things dried out - somewhat. Two of the roads of this triangle I'm at are actually just mowed paths to the ranch land beyond. I was off these paths, but just barely. A truck pulling a trailer drove by eight feet from the back of the tent. He didn't stop, either. If he had, he would have got stuck in the mud.

Packed up and headed off at 11:24am. Not sure about the destination, but I did decide to back-track to an east-west paved road about three miles back north. Then I'd see what time it is when I get to Buffalo.

The truck/trailer driver and I exchanged waves as he passed me on the gravel road. It was noon when I arrived at the paved road, marked E0030 Road on my map. Noon mileage: 3.3 miles.

At the intersection with NS185 Road, I stopped for a break. The sun was coming out bright, which reminded me I'd forgotten to put sunscreen on this morning. I ate a bag of peanuts, and called my friend Jim. I told him everything was good. Back to it, making my way into the east wind at 12:45pm.

The familiar BANG of a tire blowout sounded at 12:57pm. Rear tire. The tire was just worn out, with inner cords breaking and showing through on the tread side. I got to work, and all went smoothly. The tube had a slit too long to patch, so I used a new one, along with one of the de-thorned tires. Two pick-up truck drivers stopped and asked if I needed anything -friendly Oklahoma! As soon as I had the bike back upright, I could see rain coming. All rain-proof just in time!

Back to pedaling at 2:18pm. The wind seemed to be from the northwest now. Made it to US-183 at 2:59pm. South about ten miles would get me to Buffalo. Had rain off-and-on, until the last three miles. Definitely "on" then.

I arrived in Buffalo at 4:14pm, in no-rain sunshine. The road shoulders in town were so full of rain water, I had to ride in the main lane. I passed a motel that might work for tonight. They have a laundry. Supper was on my mind first, however.

Arrived at the Buffalo Diner at 4:22pm. Ordered a chocolate milk, and the Chicken Fried Chicken dinner. Had a second chocolate milk - this one I had to stir myself. All very good. One of a group of old men sitting where they could see my bike asked if it was a three-speed Schwinn.

At 5:12pm, I proceeded south on the highway, wanting to see a park I'd investigated back home using Google Earth. Stone City Park is its name. A sign at the pavilion there explained why Buffalo is known as Stone City. I also noticed that Santa's reindeer are being held captive here. I parted with my blown tire and tube here, into their trash can. I thought this place might work for camping, but there's no restroom. I think I'll go back to that motel.

Arrived at Buffalo Creek Motel & RV Park at 5:54pm. Checked in to room 11. Very nice for $50. I walked to the nearby Dollar General store for a Coke (for now), and ginger snaps and toaster pastries (for packing).

A shower, laundry, and report writing wrapped up my evening. Yes! Done before midnight!

Jeff

Spent: $13.13 plus $2.50 (supper) + $50 plus $5 (motel) + $15.51 (Coke, food supplies) + $2.25 (laundry machines) = $88.39.

Day 16 - Buffalo, OK to Buffalo, OK
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ looking east from US-183 just south of E0060 Road - Harper County, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ rainwater in the gutters - Buffalo, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ camping area behind Buffalo Creek Motel & RV Park - Buffalo, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 23 miles (37 km)
Total: 640 miles (1,030 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0