Day 1 - ending near Phelps, MO - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

August 14, 2016

Day 1 - ending near Phelps, MO

Posted via email Mon Aug 15 05:29:02 2016 PDT

Alarm set for 7:00am; I woke up at 6:55am. When the alarm did sound, I couldn't figure out how to turn it off! Took shower, then enjoyed coffee Laurie had for me in the kitchen. Laurie made bacon and eggs for me, and Bill made corn fritters. They were very good!

It looked like rain was heading here from the southeast, so I put plastic over the cargo while Laurie and Bill watched. They were quite helpful in getting me started off. After pictures and hugs, I was on my way - at 10:04am.

Today's planned destination was Beagle Bay RV Haven and Campground near Sarcoxie - a nice place I stayed at in 2013. It's a little out of my way -both for today and tomorrow. Laurie saw I had an alternate campground located more on-route, and figured I'd end up there. We'll see how the day goes.

I took designated bicycle streets through Springfield, for the most part. That put me crossing over I-44 on CR-EE at 11:19am. I was south of the airport after that. Near a radar tower, I called my friend Jim, and left a message.

Noon mileage today was 11.3 miles.

I used Farm Road 97 to drop down to MO-266. There were some hills, but climbing them went OK. At Plano, there were walls still standing for what must have been an impressive building at one time. I took a break there at 1:04pm. It'd been cloudy all morning, but now it was hazy sunshine.

Passed through Halltown at 1:46pm, then met up with MO-96 at Paris Springs. MO-96 had a just-wide-enough shoulder that took concentration to stay on going fast downhill.

At 4:00pm, I came to Don's Crossroads Conoco in Albatross, and stopped for a chocolate milk and cookies.

Half a dozen miles to the turn to my alternate campground, and I made the turn (onto MO-97) when I got there. At 5:04pm, I arrived at Robert E. Talbot Conservation Area. It's primitive camping - no water, but Laurie filled both my gallon water jugs this morning, so I'm OK for the start tomorrow. I did drink a gallon today.

Both GPS units report that my maximum speed was 29.6 mph. I don't know when that occurred.

Got the bike unpacked, the tent set up, a fire made, and had supper. Next, report writing. Sorted pictures first. I was wanting a place to sit while I worked. Stacking firewood sort of like a log house worked, and I stayed there until it got too dark.

After I was in the tent, I checked the bike's battery voltage at the cord socket I'd run into the tent. It was 12.8 volts. I'm happy with that. I had the MAP330 GPS power adaptor and the flashers on all day. Apparently, the bike's generator can keep up with that load.

I found a lot of nails (and a key) along the roads today. I'm not out of "It's a day-trip." mode yet.

This has been a great first-day. Not too hot, not too hilly, no rain, and the wind was pushing me. I'm also being supported by the gifts, prayers, and good wishes of friends and family. What a blessing!

Jeff

Spent: $2.59 (snacks).

Day 1 - Springfield, MO to Phelps, MO
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ hoping to take the right right! (which would be leaving CR-EE and getting onto Farm Road 124) - Greene County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ tractor moving bales north of Farm Road 124 - Greene County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a window arch on what's left of the building at the northwest corner of MO-266 and Farm Road 45 - Plano, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ along MO-96 - Albatross, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 42 miles (68 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0