Day 0 - drive to Springfield, MO - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2016

Day 0 - drive to Springfield, MO

Posted via email Sun Aug 14 06:52:01 2016 PDT

I tentatively planned to leave at 9:00am this morning for my drive to Springfield. Missed that by fifteen minutes, but that was OK. Last night at 1:00am (well, actually this morning) I had everything packed and in a pile on the living room floor. With that done, I slept well to 5:30am.

My wife made breakfast for me as I loaded the truck. My old single-speed came along - to be left in Springfield, as a last-resort spare.

The drive from Morton to Springfield using expressways was more like six hours, instead of eight hours, like I'd told some. The eight hours must be when I take secondary roads, as I have done in the past. Anyway, that was like arriving two hours before I thought I would!

There was time for drinking a Dr Pepper and visiting while packing the bike. With that done, we went to dinner at Rib Crib. Great service and food while we enjoyed catching up on news.

Afterwards, Bill stopped at an AutoZone store so I could purchase a digital tire gauge, to replace the one I found not working early this morning.

More fun conversation back at home, then ice cream! Some report-writing finished my first day in Missouri.

Jeff

Spent: $8.60 (tire gauge).

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0