Appendix: getting this bike back on the road - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

Appendix: getting this bike back on the road

By the following Monday - two days after I was home, I had won an eBay bid on a used kick-back hub. It would appear that I was moving fast before my wife asked what I was up to, but actually, this deal was what I was looking for.

eBay deal - $50 plus $8 shipping
Heart 0 Comment 0

It wasn't until October 10 when I had time to get started on the hub repair. My green Park Tools grease had turned black.

lots of metal bits in my grease – original hub, drive end
Heart 0 Comment 0

The eBay replacement had sticky, hardened grease that was work to get off.

lots of sticky grease – replacement hub, brake end
Heart 0 Comment 0

Some of my original hub parts were in better shape than the replacement hub's parts, but not all. Especially not the high-speed drive sprocket.

Schwinn Yellow Band Hub high-speed drive sprockets. The original (used on my trip) has a destroyed bearing race.
Heart 0 Comment 0

On October 15, I pieced together a complete set of parts, using the best from each, to build up one good hub.

October 15, 2016 - making one from two
Heart 0 Comment 0

Reassembly into the hub shell went smoothly. Time to test. It works! It works! (At least down the driveway.)

I continued on with repair of a few other bike issues. The front axle threads were messed-up on one side, so I chased them with a 5/16-24 threading die. That was a mistake. The axle is actually 5/16" Metric, whatever that is. I think it's metric-spaced threads on a 5/16-inch diameter rod. Anyway, I purchased a new front axle. I also purchased a new set of my favorite (larger size) tires: Kenda 26 x 2 x 1-3/4 (54-571) for Schwinn S-7 rims. The remaining repair tasks were shortening the chain to get the rear fender back in place, and reclaiming my quarter-inch nut driver attachment by switching-out the brake arm strap with the better one that came with my replacement hub.

Time for a day-trip test ride. November 9 was the day for that. The bike is riding great! I'm ready to do those last nineteen miles now.

November 9, 2016 – along CR-900E south of Metamora, Illinois
Heart 0 Comment 0

Now, should I do another touring trip with this bike? That question got me thinking. I searched back and looked at photos I had taken in 2015, when I had first cleaned/greased the original hub. One photo shows that the bearing race on the high-speed drive sprocket was in good shape then.

May 9, 2015 - disassembly of original rear hub before first tour
Heart 0 Comment 0

So, I speculate that it was my over-weight touring load that destroyed the original sprocket.

It would be prudent to retire this bike from touring.

But, if I had a spare high-speed sprocket on hand . . .

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0