Training, and Our Bikes - KAMO Spring Tour 2022; Does Bigfoot Ride a Bike? - CycleBlaze

Training, and Our Bikes

Russian Warship Go F...

Harvey the Wonder Bike.  Harvey (he's a bicycle "RV" you see) is a highly customized Surly Long Haul Disc Trucker.  In fact, the only thing about Harvey that's a Surly is the frame and fork; everything else is 100% custom build per my specs.  I have discussed the details in earlier journals, and I'll refer you to them should you care about such; the original build specs can be found here -->  All the Specs and some updates I made can be found here --> Updates (the specs on Doc's bike can also be found at the "Updates" link).    Being a Galaxy-class touring bike, Harvey keeps abreast of world affairs and insisted that I add this bumper sticker to his rear fender;

Harvey Insisted...
Heart 1 Comment 0

In a world where semi-trucks seem like warships compared to a bicycle, the bumper sticker seemed appropriate. 

Training.  A short tour like this one wouldn't normally require much training; assuming you ride regularly, you should be good to go.  But I earlier whined about the herniated disc I developed last fall that is putting pressure on a nerve and preventing me from having full power in my right leg.   I have been able to ride regularly this calendar year so far, but my usual ride is only about 15 miles and it's pretty flat.  I haven't been brave enough to attempt the steep hills that I usually ride, because my right leg just doesn't have full power.  But now that I am committed to this tour, I have to force myself to ride further and add some hills to my routine. So this will be a real-time more-or-less weekly update on my progress.  I'm training on an unloaded bike.  During the week I will ride the flat 15-mile route at least 3 days, and on Saturdays I will try to ride a progressively longer distance.   My rides consist of loops from my home - the wind is predominantly from the SW here, so I ride south and west first and then return north and east to complete the loop. 

Sat Apr 16 - I rode 35 miles, mostly flat but with 1 short steep hill.  This was difficult for me, and I stopped at about 22 miles for an off-bike snack break.  I finished the ride at an overall 10.6mph pace, which is much slower than I would have ridden prior to the back issue.   I'm riding an unloaded bike at about the speed I would normally ride a fully-loaded bike.  Oops - this tour may be much more difficult for me than it should be - I guess we'll see. 

Fri Apr 22 - I managed to slog through 40 miles.  My training routes are all loops from my home, so if there's any wind I will experience it for part of the ride.  Today there was a strong south wind, which I prefer - I ride south and west first, then return north and east, so I had a tailwind on the return.  This route included 1 very steep but short hill, and I managed to complete it at an 11.2mph average which felt fast to me.  I think the overcast skies helped the riding conditions. 

Fri Apr 29 - I rode 45 miles today, and it was a tough ride for me.  The wind was strong from the south, gusting to 30+ mph.  It was nice once I reached the halfway mark at Kellyville and was able to commence heading back north, but I was pretty spent at that point.  Today's ride included a couple of steep hills (the locally well-known Kiefer hill being one of them), so I think I am getting the proper training for this tour.   I lucked out with overcast skies again, so at least I didn't have to suffer the sun. 

Fri May 6 - I rode 50 miles today. Roads were flooded from last night's rain, and twice I rode through 6" deep water. The wind was out of the north, a remnant from the storms, but not too bad. Once again I got lucky with overcast skies. The distance was tough for me - even at a slow pace of 11.4 mph I felt pretty beat up afterwards.

Sat May 14 - I managed 55 miles today.  It was tough, because this was the first day I had to deal with the heat and humidity that is typical in Oklahoma this time of year.  The last few weeks I had gotten lucky on my weekly long ride and had been under overcast skies - but not so today!  I got a bit woozy and stopped and bought a 2-quart jug of cold sweet tea in Kellyville - the cold liquid plus the sugar did the trick and got me home.

91 F Official Temp (measured in the shade), but the Asphalt Roadway Can Get Much Hotter As My Cycle Computer Shows
Heart 0 Comment 0

I have managed to increase my training enough that I should be good to go for this short tour.  Today's ride convinced me that the big task will be dealing with the triple-H challenge consisting of Heat, Hills, and Humidity.  I've gotten lazy in retirement and don't wake up as early as I should - the heat today reminded me of the advantage of an early start. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Patsy ModenGot to love Harvey.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago