Day 2, Sardis Lake to Cedar Lake Recreation Area - KAMO Spring Tour 2022; Does Bigfoot Ride a Bike? - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2022

Day 2, Sardis Lake to Cedar Lake Recreation Area

Bigfoot On Display

Heart 0 Comment 0

Climbing Today; 2,623 ft                                      Climbing to Date; 3,963 ft

It was surprisingly cold last night, and I was glad I brought the Thermalite sleeping bag liner. With it I stayed snug and warm, without it I would have shivered all night. My sleeping bag is summer weight, and any temperature below 60 f is more than it can handle.

Today was expected to be the hardest day of this short tour, and it lived up to it's billing.  We got up at 06:30, packed up camp and rolled over to the "A" loop where most of the group had camped.  There was no need for breakfast at camp because we knew that the convenience store about 4 miles away served breakfast, but Tour Leader Thomas had provided coffee and that sounded good. I needed coffee this morning, maybe more than usual.  After a quick cup, we rolled on to the store in Yanush and were happy to find that the small cafe served up a great breakfast. With a decent breakfast and several cups of coffee down the hatch, I was ready to roll. If Bigfoot was anywhere nearby I wouldn't have noticed until I had some coffee in me, but once I got caffeinated I was on high alert looking for any non-human primates.  

Bigfoot is Hiding Nearby
Heart 0 Comment 0

In this part of the world, Bigfoot is considered to be a patriotic fellow;

Bigfoot Waves the Flag
Heart 0 Comment 0

We enjoyed a fairly easy roll on lightly traveled county roads (mostly) to about mile 24 when we entered Talihina and sought out lunch.  We found it at an old-fashioned malt shop;

The Chocolate Malt and Hawaiian Burger Was a Great Combination
Heart 1 Comment 0


  Leaving Talihina meant that we had to ascend today's big climb up to the Talimina Drive, so we were going UP from Talihina and getting higher. Gee whiz, listen to me whining like a little girl... And speaking of getting high, apparently Bigfoot smokes dope;

Bigfoot Huffs Weed
Heart 0 Comment 0

The descent from the Talimina Drive was a well-earned pleasure, and except for a few steep hills near Cedar Lake the rest of the ride was an easy roll. We set up the tents and prepared camp, then enjoyed the hot shower.  Camping can be quite pleasant when the campground has a shower; if you can clean up after a day of cycling then life is good. 

Bigfoot Stalking A Business (photo credit; Cindy McNicholas)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Dinner tonight consisted of hot dogs (bratwurst actually) and beans and pasta, courtesy of Cindy and Thomas. Washed down with a couple of beers, it was quite tasty.  After a hard day of cycling I'm pretty sure that everyone was happy with the meal.

It was nice having the company of other cyclists, and we told tales till after dark. Doc and I were camped at the far end of the campground, away from everyone else.  As I climbed into my Kelty 2-man tent (I really like that tent), I caught a shadowy blur moving through the woods -  was it just Doc doing his best Bigfoot impersonation, or something else?  Sleep came easy and no hairy primates interrupted my snoozing. 

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 81 miles (130 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0