The adventure BEFORE the adventure - Day 1: Hilton Head Island, SC to Asheville, NC - Summer Adventure 2011 - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2011

The adventure BEFORE the adventure - Day 1: Hilton Head Island, SC to Asheville, NC

John writes:

On Wed 29 June, Kim and I loaded up her 2001 Mazda 626 (194,700 miles on it!!!) with all of our gear and departed Hilton Head Island, SC, at 0845.

0844 - all loaded up and ready to drive
Heart 0 Comment 0
John
Heart 0 Comment 0

With me driving and Kim serving as systems control officer, we hadn't even been on the road for an hour and Kim needed a pee break. After that, we drove straight through for 5 and 1/2 hours to Asheville, North Carolina, nibbling on food that we had packed.

Kim writes:

"OMG!" I exclaimed. Of course John didn't know why. I said, "We need to stop so I can take a picture of that sign in the median." As he pulled into the emergency lane, he asked if I was going to run across the interstate. I said that I wasn't sure. Turned out I was able to zoom in from the roadside.

How about this!! At the intersection of I-95 and I-26 in South Carolina.
Heart 0 Comment 0

John writes:

We are spending the night in Asheville because I wanted to show it to her; plus, it is a scouting trip for a "leaf-peeping" adventure in October. Anyway, upon arriving, we went to the Folk Art Center, and then to the Asheville Visitor's Center. Tonight, we ate at an awesome vegetarian place called "The Laughing Tree." In summary, we are 1/3 of the way to merely starting our adventure, and so far so good - we haven't scratched out each other's eyes yet. A cursory check of our finances tonight revealed that I have $40 in my checking account and Kim has $13 in hers! Let the games begin.

John
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0