Longest day so far: Very windy ride to Jellystone Park - Summer Adventure 2011 - CycleBlaze

July 9, 2011

Longest day so far: Very windy ride to Jellystone Park

Kim writes:

We continue to meet so many nice people. Last night our camping neighbors on both sides were cyclists.

We met Jim and Leslie while on the last night of their first tour. They live in Iowa. This morning I loaned Jim my Topeak Road Morph G pump, as his pump wouldn't pressurize high enough. I hope his tire holds air until they get back to their car in Sturgeon Bay.

On the other side we met Jay, Carolyn, and their twin boys. Upon packing up our panniers this morning, Carolyn remarked that it's like putting a puzzle together every day. Such a perfect description. They all cycle and Jay's very anxious to go self-contained. He's focused enough that I have no doubt he'll go....it's just a matter of when.

Was so happy to find this nice tea shop for lunch today. They had a great selection and I would have bought a few things, had I been traveling by car.

Yep, that's a great sign
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tonight as John was building the campfire at Jellystone Park (oldest one), the guy next to us walked over with some kindling. Then later on, he brought over an armload of logs. So thankful for the kindness of strangers!

John writes:

Kim and I got our earliest start of the trip this mornning - 9:30. We pedaled into a strong headwind to eat a late lunch at the Door County Coffee and Tea Company in Carlsville. Then we continued to a Walmart on the north side of Sturgeon Bay and had a mini shopping spree.

Today's lunch stop
Heart 0 Comment 0

Lastly, we pedaled to a campground that is sooooo hokey - one of those Yogi Bear Jellystone Campgrounds. I always swore that I would NEVER stay at one of those things, and here I am. Anyway, Kim and I were up until 11:30 just staring at our campfire.

For tonight, a very lively Saturday evening for kids
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 226 miles (364 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0